We were Liars

liars2

We were liars – E. Lockhart

It’s better if I don’t tell you anything about this. I really can’t, spoilers. But I also can’t review it if I don’t tell you anything. And sort of the point of reading ARCs other than the fact that I like reading, is so that I can tell you all about them. So, I guess a review of sorts will have to come out of this.
This is a very clever, very sophisticated book.

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE

I picked this because of all the hype, I had no idea what it was about and I think, that was part of the reason why I enjoyed it so much, had I known even an inkling of what the story was about to unleash on me, the entire thing would have been ruined for me. Seriously, when thinking about how I was going to review this, all I could think about was River Song.

cm-38964-350c9007e100b0 Reviewing this without ruining the plot for anyone who reads this is going to be so difficult. Eurgh.

Bare with me. I will try and make this at least a tiny bit coherent, because guys, this is one hell of a book and I need everyone to read it so I can finally discuss it with people.

As I can’t talk about the plot AT ALL, I’ll try and convince you to read it by talking about all the other things that make this book remarkable.

Reasons why you should read this book:

  • The Liars are incredible. You’ll love them and you’ll hate them. The reasons you hate them will be the reasons you love them. The reasons you love them will make you hate them.
  • Unreliable narrators are the best. This book doesn’t just have a narrator that can’t remember the story that she’s telling you, she’s a narrator who along with her cousins makes up a group fondly known as The Liars. She can’t remember and she’s lying and the people in the story are also all lying. Have fun with that.
  • The characters combined with the writing style keeps you on your toes, this isn’t a lazy read.

Intrigued? You should be.

The writing style is very choppy and blunt at times which might put a few people off, but seriously, trust me when I say that you should stick with it, seriously, the rewards are plentiful. This is a remarkable work of mystery fiction and the most bemusing fact of all is that its all there, from page one, the whole thing is foreshadowing. The moment I finished it, I wanted to go back to the beginning, just to see if it really was all there, trust me when I say, it is. It all is. Its there from the moment the story begins, I saw but I did not observe.

pop up

I was this books captive from page one until it finally let me go on the last page, but even then I couldn’t quite escape its clutches.
Basically, this book is amazing and even though I can’t tell you why, you have to trust me. We were Liars is released on 13th May, so save the day!
This is the first book of the year that gets the Nick Fury Seal of Approval.

photo

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

8 thoughts on “We were Liars

  1. Pingback: In January I read…. – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: The 2014 End of Year Survey | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

