My Top 5 Fictional….

Bromances.
I am considering girl/girl  and girl/boy friendships in here too because why not, power to the ladies and that! Plus I find that Bromance sounds much cooler than friendship, because well, I like saying people are my bro…Just me? This is the top 5 feature. I do it now and again… Just don’t look out for it, because when I say now and again, it is like, sporadic.

#5 Naomi and Ely (Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List – David Levithan, Rachel Cohn)

naomi

I’m a big fan of the Levithan/Cohn collaborations, and this is one of my favourites, I really love the friendship between Naomi and Ely and even though it was flawed and the book is about one betraying the other, the way that their friendship is remembered and then ultimately repaired is kind of beautiful.

#4 Sam and Frodo (The Lord of the Rings- JRR Tolkein)
1315732745_249255252_1-Pictures-of--JRR-Tolkiens-LORD-OF-THE-RINGS-TRILOGY-Book-Set

Sam and Frodo are one of many pairings that I like in the LOTR trilogy. I kind of love Sam’s never ending loyalty even in the face of some of Frodo’s more asshatty moments. I love how seriously he took his job of looking after him and I kind of love how Frodo comes through for him too when he needs to.

#3 Harry and Ron (Harry Potter – JK Rowling)
harry-potter


Harry and Ron are an awesome pairing. They fight, they make up, they fight again, but they never doubt who is really important and that is something that needs to just be in a friendship. Also, the fact that the first year that they met, Ron decided to stay at school over Christmas because he knew Harry would have no where to go. Bless his little cottons. Ron maybe just a sidekick, but I get the impression that he loves being at Harry’s side.

#2 Merry and Pippin (The Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkein.)
1315732745_249255252_1-Pictures-of--JRR-Tolkiens-LORD-OF-THE-RINGS-TRILOGY-Book-Set
One more for LOTR! Merry and Pippin are the ultimate double act really aren’t they? Enough said. 

#1 Holmes and Watson (Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle)
0393059162.01.LZZZZZZZ-798062

I know these days people like to think that Holmes and Watson were a couple rather than just bezzie mates, and that’s fine, but I like the idea that they were best friends. Like with Sam and Frodo and Harry and Ron, I like Watson’s never wavering loyalty, and I like that Holmes does appreciate having him around. Plus, this quote kind of makes my heart melt a little: “”You’re not hurt, Watson? For God’s sake, say that you are not hurt.” It was worth a wound; it was worth many wounds; to know the depth of loyalty and love which lay behind that cold mask. The clear, hard eyes were dimmed for a moment, and the firm lips were shaking. For the one and only time I caught a glimpse of a great heart as well as of a great brain. All my years of humble but single-minded service culminated in that moment of revelation.”

So, those are my top five fictional bromances, let me know if I’ve missed any! I was going to include Jem and Will of the Infernal Devices books and also Charlotte and Wilbur of Charlotte’s Web and Ally and Sandy of the Ally’s world books in this list too. But then it wouldn’t have been five and I would have ruined the name of the feature.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

3 thoughts on “My Top 5 Fictional….

  1. No question for me it has to be the Aubrey / Maturin relationship created by the quite simply peerless Patrick O’Brien. These would be my desert island books as I never tire of rereading them and continue to discover more depth and humanity in their relationship with each revisit.
    O’ Brien reveals the characters in many ways. They interact together in scenes written from the point of view of the omniscient narrator, at times they are seen from the perspective of other characters who know them both. There are scenes from Maturin’s perspective and scenes from Aubrey’s and there are reflections in diaries and letters home from both men.
    O’Brien’s genius is that these differing view points often appear to contradict one another (as people’s differing perspectives of the same subject will disagree in real life) and so the reader gradually builds a more three dimensional view not only of the characters but of their relationship with one another.
    Despite their wildly varying physiques, intellectual strong points, interests and expertise and their often heated disagreements the deep, deep love between the two men is carefully, artfully and subtly communicated to us is so many ways. It is abundantly clear that either would die in defence of the other and possibly the most pleasing thing is the way the relationship deepens and matures slowly, gradually and with a natural weight as the books and indeed the years pass.
    Simply one of the greatest realised bromances by one of the greatest authors ever to grace the English language.

      • Very important to read them in order. The first is Master and Commander. Don’t be put off by the idea that these are blood and thunder military history books. They are at heart about relationships, love and duty yes but as much the love between two men as the love of home and country.
        The humour in them is outstanding too. It’s all in the the gentle mocking piss taking humour that only happens between two friends.
        You want kindle copies of the first couple of books?

Leave a Reply

