In January I read….

I did this monthly round up all through 2013 and it was a great way to keep track of what I read and what I thought about each book, so I’m going to continue it this year and hope that I don’t get too confused when trying to tag them all!

verityCode Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein
WW2 is one of my favourite periods of history, so I had been looking for this for some time. It’s a bit of a slow burner, but I actually really enjoyed it! I don’t think there are enough stories about women and the amazing things that they did during this period so it was great to see some female representation! Also, it meant that I managed to tick off the first month of my book genre challenge!

firebird The Key to the Golden Firebird – Maureen Johnson
One day, I’ll have read all Maureen Johnson’s books and that day will be a very sad day indeed. I picked this up at the library when I was searching for something else, Hotkey books have recently started rereleasing a load of Maureen’s older books and this was one I’d not come across before! My review is here.

monstersMonsters of Men – Patrick Ness.
The final chaos walking book! I read the first two back last year and I’ve been searching for this one ever since. Eventually I had to reserve it at the library (they charge you for that these days – cray cray -anyway WHAT A WAY TO END AN AMAZING SERIES.

shThe Return of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.
Time for a Sherlock reread I think! I need something to fill the Sherlock sized hole in my life ever since series three ended! And of course, being set in Victorian times, this counts as historical fiction so is one more for this months genre challenge.

annefrankWhat we talk about when we talk about Anne Frank – Nathan Englander
I picked this up mostly for the cover, I was intregued, I love a good typeset. Anyway, this is a group of short stories that focus on different Jewish families and their situations which cover what it means to individual Jewish communities what it means to be Jewish and what’s important to them.

liarsWe were liars – E. Lockhart.
My first ARC of the year! I’ve never read anything by E.Lockhart before but I’ve seen a lot of her quotes floating around on the internet and the reviews of this have been incredible! I enjoyed every single second of this, the only bad thing is the fact that its not out for ages! I can’t talk about it with anyone for ages because spoilers! I did as spoil free a review as I possibly could!

snowflakes2 A Million Little Snowflakes – Logan Byrne
A beautiful cover and an interesting premise does not a good book make. I was so, so disappointed with this. When I chose it from netgalley, it could have been a beautiful read, but it lacked depth. You can read my review here.

oddOdd and the Frost Giants – Neil Gaiman.
Short and sweet, not unlike my good self. I’ve been wanting to read this for ages, mostly because I’m all kinds of obsessed with norse mythology and this involves frost giants, Loki, Odin, Thor and all those cool cats from Asgard.

groundA little Piece of Ground – Elizabeth Laird.
I picked this up in my last video haul, its a story about the Gaza Strip and the troubles there told from the view point of a Palestinian boy that lives there. I’ve only ever heard Israeli stories about this part of the world and I’m always eager to learn new things, so this was great for that.

challengebanner

This year I’m taking part in the book genre challenge (image credit to eternal-books.tumblr.com)
The genre for January was historical fiction, so this month I read Code Name Verity which is set in the 1940s, the Return of Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle set in the Victorian times and Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman which involves vikings so that counts, which means, Challenge Completed for January!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “In January I read….

Leave a Reply

