Grim

16115038

Grim – Ellen Hopkins, Amanda Hocking, Julie Kagawa, Claudia Gray, Rachel Hawkins, Kimberly Derting, Myra McEntire, Malinda Lo, Sarah Rees-Brennan, Jackson Pearce, Christine Johnson, Jeri Smith Ready, Shaun David Hutchinson, Saundra Mitchell, Sonia Gensler, Tessa Gratton and Jon Skrovan.

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today

I know, the blurb doesn’t give you an awful lot to go on. I’ve heard of most of the authors included in this collection and I’ve heard talks from a couple of them, so the chance to sample some of their work was the main reason why I chose this.

Naturally, an anthology is going to be difficult to rate because, lets be honest, not every single story left me with the same feeling. Some of them were awesome, some of them not so much, but I had a lot of fun trying to work out which fairytales each one was based on. The book as a whole was great, very dark and sinister at times, just like a good fairy tale should be.

This is perfect for people who are into the Grimms’s Fairy Tales or are fans of Robin Mcinnery’s fairy tale retellings, it also helps that the cover is all kinds of pretty. In fact, I might just order myself the hard back because I know it’ll look gorgeous on my shelf!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

8 thoughts on “Grim

  1. This sounds fantastic! Even if there are only four or five stories which work for me, I figure it’ll be worth the time reading it. Sometimes I discover fairy tales I didn’t even know about through retellings like this. (Ever read My Father He Killed Me, My Mother She Ate Me? That’s another great anthology of re-tellings. It’s also how I found out that I love The Juniper Tree.) And the cover is looovely.

  2. Pingback: In February I read… – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

