In February I read…

 

I seem to have spent most of this month reading ARCS so I haven’t done as well on my challenge for this month, but not to worry, I think March’s challenge is going to be a bit of a doddle!

ari Aristotle and Dante Discover the secrets of the universe – Benjamin Alire Saenz,
I wasn’t a believer until I discovered this, there is a God and whoever God is, they created this absolute masterpiece and my life will be incomplete unless every single person in the world reads this. See my review here

sky Under the Never Sky – Veronica Rossi
Dystopian novel number one for the month!
I have to be honest, I was terribly disappointed, this took me ages to get through because for some reason I just couldn’t get excited about this. I know that world building can be tedious, but it is sort of necessary, I read this really slowly and I still had no idea what was going on. I have the sequel but I don’t think I care enough to read it.

taleThe Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood. 
I first read this for my English A Level and loved it so much that I actually went out and purchased a copy. I’ve not read it for a couple of years and thought it was about time that I picked it up again, especially as this month’s topic is dystopia and this is one of the most amazing dystopian novels I’ve ever read.

because2 Because of Her – K E Payne.
Two of my favourite things are LGBT fiction (done well) and the city of London and this was a bit good. I reviewed it here for your reading pleasure and now I have to track down the six other books written by this lady!

16115038-1Grim – I don’t think there is anyone who hasn’t contributed to this book!
This is a collection of modern day takes on classic fairy tales written by just about everyone working in YA these days, I reviewed it here.

summer1The Summer I found you – Jolene Perry
I seem to have spent all my time reading ARCS this month. This was a cute, short, sweet summer read that I think people should get a copy of if they’re planning a beach holiday this year, I’m just hoping that the kinks are ironed out before it is available. You can see my review here.

luxLux Guardians 1: The Forgotten – Saruuh Kelsey.
I’ve been following Saruuh on Tumblr for a while and have been watching the progress of her writing, I’ve been waiting for this to be available for a while and if you’re quick you can get this for free on amazon too! It’s seriously good and really my only gripe with it is I have no idea what happened to Bennett!

whiteWhite Space (Dark Passages 1) – Isla J Bick
I wanted to like it, I really, really did. But I ended up having to throw in the towel before I got half way through, this book was just far too confusing for my tiny brain to handle. I did a review as best I could which will be up in the next few days, but intend to revisit it, perhaps when I have less going on in my life to try and make sense of it and finish it off.

challengebanner

The genre for February is dystopia which is like, my favourite so I was really looking forward to getting stuck into loads of dystopians this month which didn’t really pan out for me! I ended up requesting LOTS of ARCS that all came through at the same time so I’ve spent more time reading those than anything else but I did manage a couple.
This month, the dystopia I read were:
Under the never sky – Veronica Rossi, which I didn’t like,The Handmaid’s Tale which I loved and The Forgotten which is a sort of steam punk sci fi dystopian and was all kinds of awesome.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “In February I read…

  1. I need to get my hands on The Handmaid’s Tale, it’s on The List but I was ignoring it because I figured it was a romance/historical fiction bore-fest. Recently I have become that I was aware and so many people are saying how wonderful it is that it’s been bumped up several positions on my TBR list!

Leave a Reply

