Great Bookish Bakeoff – Two year old cookies

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking them. 

20140302-142753.jpg

Usually when I bake stuff, I sit and read whilst my things are cooking, this time though, this wasn’t the case, I wasn’t baking alone.
A little while ago, I made 3D Dino Biscuits and as my niece was coming over for a slumber party and she, in her own words, wants to be a dinosaur when she grows up I thought it would be cool to make her some dino biscuits. The pair of us when perusing YouTube came across this:


Which meant that instead of me making her biscuits, she wanted to help make biscuits, so, I cheated and used a packet cookie mix to avoid complications. This did mean dough that wasn’t all that malleable though, so instead of dinosaurs, we had normal old cookies.

So, you will need:
1 packed of cookie mix
30 ml of cold water
a bowl
a measuring spoon
a wooden spoon
a two year old.

I poured the mix into a bowl and my niece measured out the right amount of water using the measuring spoons and poured it in and the two of us took it in turns to give it a good stir before pulling the dough into pieces and rolling them into balls to make our cookies. Basically, if your stirring starts looking like this, you’re doing it right:
20140302-142806.jpg
While we were waiting for them to cook and cool down, she further impressed me by reading me a story all about Spongebob Squarepants and his trip to the doctors. Poor Spongebob.

Anyway, two year old cookies actually taste pretty spectacular! Maybe in the future, I’ll stop baking when I want a few moments to read with cake and instead just start babysitting my niece when I want cookies.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

