In March I read…

Can’t believe March is over already! What kind of madness is this? I’m off to Paris today, so I thought I’d overload you with posts to keep ya’ll entertained (yeah right) until I get back. But then, I’m starting my course in Forensic Science, so I might not be about quite so much. This might be the last post with a zillion books in!

summerme The Summer I wasn’t me – Jessica Verdi.
Good golly wee I enjoyed this. I’d not read any Jessica Verdi books before, now I want them all! This was horrific, fluffy and tugs on the heart strings all at the same time. Read my review here.

prefectPerfect – Rachel Joyce
I kinda loved her first book, the unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry so I was pretty excited to come across this, it reminded me a lot of The Casual Vacancy, not in the terms of story, but in the narration. You can check out my review here

bobA Street Cat Named Bob – James Bowen.
I don’t read much non fiction, but my boss lent me this and I was really rather enamoured by it! Bob is such a wonderful cat and being a cat person, I loved reading about his adventures!

catThe World according to Bob – James Bowen.
This was engaging and although bits of it were properly sad, I loved reading more of Bob and James’ adventures, though I have to be honest, reading this has made me view the Big Issue more critically, I always assumed that it was a good organisation that treated people really well, but reading this has made me think otherwise. All in all was a good, quick read.

geog1The Geography of You and Me – Jennifer E Smith.
As adorable as you would expect from Jennifer E Smith, a lovely, fluffy story of teenage romance, about long distance relationships and one of those amazing nights when you meet someone who makes such a lasting impression on you that you spend the rest of time having an international relationship with them. Review here.

alice The Truth about Alice – Jennifer Mathieu
Good gosh, this was good, like really, really good.
I’ve never read anything like this before, essentially, this is a book about a girl who is being is bullied beyond belief, but told from the prospective of the people who were bullying her or those who were perpetuating rumours rather than the point of view of the girl who was being bullied. Really rather amazing. Review here.

fanFangirl – Rainbow Rowell.
I have been waiting for this moment for what feels like an eternity. I am this book, this book is me, we are one. Much good. Very nice. I don’t really know what to say about this, I kinda loved it, perhaps a bit too much. I kinda want everyone who raises their eyebrows at me when I flail about Destiel to read this book, just so you can perhaps understand.

thirteen Thirteen – Tom Hoylt.
This would have been perfect for when it was dystopia month!
I absolutely loved the promotion for this book, I don’t know if you guys saw it, but there was a lot of instagram related marketing and it was awesome! You can read my review here.

paris wife The Paris Wife – Paula Maclaine.
Thought I’d get something Parisian in before I head to Paris! I’ve read Z a novel of Zelda Fitzgerald, so I was hoping to get to this on my TBR list because it’s about Hemingway’s first wife, Hadley, and their adventures as ex pats in Paris during the roaring twenties. The narration is fabulous and poetic and it was a wonderful look at Hemingway’s life in the twenties.

challengebanner

The genre for this month was Contemporary, and I think that EVERYTHING I read this month could be classed as that! The books about Bob the street car are non fiction, but I think as it’s about a contemporary subject it still counts! Next month is Fantasy… We’ll see how we get on with that!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

