Good Omens

go

Good Omens – Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett

I’ve never read anything by Terry Prachett, I know, that’s kind of sacrilegious isn’t it? I’ve always wanted to, but I’ve never been sure where to start or what to choose first. When I saw that one of the genres in my book genre challenge was fantasy, I decided that I would do my best to track down something with Pratchett’s name on. Lo and behold, I found this, which not only features Mr Prachett himself, but also, Neil Gaiman, who I kind of love!

According to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch(the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies, written in 1655, before she exploded), the world will end on a Saturday. Next Saturday, in fact. Just before dinner. So the armies of Good and Evil are amassing, Atlantis is rising, frogs are falling, tempers are flaring. Everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon—both of whom have lived amongst Earth’s mortals since The Beginning and have grown rather fond of the lifestyle—are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture.
And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist . . .

I’ll be honest, I couldn’t really tell the difference between who was writing what, which was sort of a let down because I was intending this to be a nice lead in to other Pratchett books, but Iif all books with Terry Pratchett having a hand in them are like this one, then I never want to read anything else ever again. This book was almost Douglas Adams-esque with it’s random analogies and sharp wit. Almost every single line was a joy, which is, as you know, quite difficult, there’s usually always one line that sounds off or is just a bit meh.Like in the Labrynth where David Bowie in the middle of quite a normal bit of dialogue just goes “tra la la.” This didn’t have any of those moments, I didn’t find that with this book at all. In fact, I sort of want to marry it. Or at least, spend a few days alone with it.

The only thing, the absolutely only thing that distracted me from the genius story telling was the fact that one of the main characters is called Crowley. CROWLEY.
Because honestly, every time I read the name Crowley and the description of whatever it was that said demon was doing, all I could think of was this dude:
crowley

As lovely as it is to have Mark Shepard’s face appear in your mind at random intervals, it isn’t half distracting. (Side note – I thought that Azriaphale looked liked the dude who played Uriel on the same show that the above Crowley appears) While this book is good, it is also long and has a lot of characters, I found that I had to keep flipping back to the handy list at the beginning just so I was sure who was who and what their role was.
Other than that though, any book that makes me A) think about Mark Shepard, B) reads like a Douglas Adams novel and C) talks about the merits of free will, who has it and who doesn’t, while representing those things in the form of angels, demons and a misplaced antichrist is right up my street and hopefully, along yours as well.

Now, I need to read actual Terry Pratchett, just to see if there is any similarity and well, to find out what all the fuss is about. I’ve been recommended LOADS of them, but any more is also welcome!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

4 thoughts on “Good Omens

  1. Oooh, if you’re looking for a good Terry Pratchett read, may I suggest the Discworld series? There are tons of books, but they don’t all really fit together, so you can just read one or two if you want. They are absolutely hilarious and nonsensical in the best way ever. Like, the world is located on the backs of 4 elephants who ride along on the back of a giant cosmic space turtle and the first book features Luggage with teeth. Wonderful. ^.^

    xoxo
    Morgan
    wanderingrush.wordpress.com

  2. This books sounds so good! How come I didn’t even know it existed?!

    My favourite Terry Pratchett book is The Hogfather, but I’m not sure die-hard fans would agree. People always seem to prefer his other books.

  3. Pingback: In April I read…. | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

