Top 5 – People to follow on Twitter

Oh look, Leah’s doing that Top 5 feature again which she hasn’t pulled out for MONTHS. I keep meaning to be a proper blogger and do regular features, but then I just… It just never happens. Anyway, here’s the Top 5 feature, which is sort of like the Top Ten Tuesday that happens, only not usually on a Tuesday and with five things because I am far too uninspired to think of ten.

Today, I’m going to deviate from my usual top 5 characters who or top 5 books that and talk about my top 5 tweeters. Recently, my parents decided to join Twitter. Yes. The old folk are no longer content with making Facebook uncool by sharing pointless graphics to clog up every one’s news feeds and posting irrelevent comments on their younger relative’s statuses (stati?), they now have the need to infiltrate twitter as well. Luckily for me (and unluckily for my followers) I spend most of my time on Twitter talking about telly shows and squeeing about Jensen Ackles and Darren Criss.
My dad’s been happily tweeting about his favourite footie team and instagramming pictures of cider for a while now, but my mum has only just recently jumped on the twitter bandwagon and knowing that I am sort of in need of tweehab, asked me to recommend her some people to follow. Naturally, she wasn’t interested in any of the cool people on my timeline, so I thought I’d share them with you guys instead, just in case you weren’t following any of them and you know, you wanted to. Weirdly, now that I have them all written down, I’ve noticed that most of their names begin with M,,, But this isn’t why they’re my favourite people to follow.

#5
Felicia Day @feliciaday
If you don’t like Felicia Day, I’m sorry, you’re living life wrong. Felicia Day is like an actual famous fangirl. Aside from being an all round awesome person, she’s an actress, creator of awesomeness (and posts very good goodreads reviews). Plus, sometimes she talks about gender politics and that is amazing.

#4
Aron Smith @TheBruthaVoodoo
I actually know Aron in real life, so I can’t decide if listing him is super creepy or not… Anyway, Aron’s twitter feed is genuinely one of my favourites. Apart from intelligent observations, he also writes stuff and presents radio programmes and recommends cool nerdy stuff. So, go follow him. (I reviewed one of his books once, you can download it for free from here.)

#3
Mara Wilson @MaraWritesStuff
I LOVE MARA WILSON. Apart from the fact that she was Matilda, Mara Wilson just spouts amazing intelligent 140 character witicisms. So go and follow her immediately, you won’t regret it.

#2
Misha Collins @mishacollins
Ya’ll were waiting for this right?
Apart from being one of the most random people I follow on twitter, Misha Collins likes to tweet about his charity and flirt with William Shatner. He also likes to tease Destiel fans like me.

#1
Maureen Johnson @maureenjohnson
Aside from the fact that she is a hugely talented writer of many of my favourite books, Maureen Johnson loves to engage with just about anyone on twitter, she also likes to start twitter discussions about the gender inequalities in the publishing business, gets people to contribute to things like a cover swap and generally debates all sorts of important issues over the internet. Plus she posts very cute pictures of her dog.

So, those are my top five people to follow on Twitter!
Honourable mentions go to: Robert Downey Jr (@robertdowneyjr), Kat Dennings (@OfficialKat), Tom Fletcher (@tommcfly), Laci Green (@gogreen18) Dan Howell (@danisnotonfire) Simon Pegg (@simonpegg) and William Shatner (@williamshatner).

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “Top 5 – People to follow on Twitter

  1. Hahaha tweehab…I don’t yet have a Twitter, but am seriously considering it now, although I have absolutely no time. And HAAAA I love it when the old people get in on social media…all those political pictures and awkward all-caps statuses (is it stati?! that makes so much sense) never get old. *sigh*

    (:
    Morgan

Leave a Reply

