Far From You

far1

 

 

Far From You – Tess Sharpe
Me reading this book looked a lot like this:
subtlefangirlfing

This book was so good.
Like, guys, it made me want to cry in a corner next to the pile that was my ambitions as a writer. This is everything that I wanted my book to be. I don’t even know where to start with how good this was. I’ve had my eye on it for a while, loads of the blogs I follow had managed to get egalleys or ARCs of this and had flailed about how good it was, but none of them could have prepared me for just how mind blowingly awesome this story is. You know when you love something so much you lose the ability to articulate that love? That is what this book has done to me.

Nine months. Two weeks. Six Days.  
That’s how long recovering addict Sophie’s been drug-free. Four months ago her best friend, Mina, died in what everyone believes was a drug deal gone wrong – a deal they think Sophie set up. Only Sophie knows the truth. She and Mina shared a secret, but there was no drug deal. Mina was deliberately murdered.
Forced into rehab for an addiction she’d already beaten, Sophie’s finally out and on the trail of the killer – but can she track them down before they come for her?

Oh, Far From You, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways…

  1. A clear non linear narrative
    I love non linear narrations, it makes everything interesting and really keeps you on your toes. What I love even more than non linear narration is clear, concise non linear narration. Far From You tells the story of Sophie and Mina by jumping from events happening in the present, where Sophie is out of rehab and trying to piece together what happened to Mina, to events prior to that, leading up to her addiction, leading up to Mina’s death, little details about their friendship that are essential to solving the mystery of the murder, and rather handily, each of those things are labelled, not only with where they are chronologically, but how old Sophie was at the time too. This was great because not only did we get to see just how far back Sophie’s problems stemmed, but we also got a well rounded story for a character that isn’t even physically present.
  2. An LGBT Theme
    Ya’ll know how much I love LGBT novels, especially novels where a character’s sexuality isn’t the most interesting thing about them. This book has that, not only does this book have that but it has a bisexual character. This is huge. I have only managed to find a handful of books with bisexual characters so I get quite excited when I find them. Bisexual erasure is a real problem in society and I know that many writers probably don’t mean to do this and are just trying to limit confusion and get their story across, but we really need more bisexuals, pansexuals, demisexuals, asexuals… Basically, we need more diverse books and this is ticking the box really rather well. This book features someone who identifies as bisexual, but the reveal isn’t a big deal, the declaration isn’t unnecessary and the story isn’t about the fact that that character likes boys and girls and another character likes girls, the murder mystery is the focus. The diverse range of characters is one of many reasons to love this book.
  3. 3D characters.
    Every single character in this book, even the secondary ones, were incredibly well rounded and brilliantly crafted. There is so much going on, Sophie is not only a recovering addict trying to solve her best friend’s murder, she is also a teenage girl. She is also constantly in pain thanks to a car accident that was caused by said best friend’s older brother who she has a confusing relationship with, she is isolated because everyone thinks she’s a lying addict, she is so multi layered and has so many different aspects to her character. And it wasn’t just Sophie we had that with every single character. Trev for instance, has to deal with the fact that his little sister has been murdered, that her best friend might have something to do with it, that he is wildly attracted to said best friend, but is also filled with guilt at the fact that he started all her problems in the first place. Like, man, I could write a dissertation on how wonderfully complex all these characters are.
  4. The writing
    Guys, Tess Sharpe has a gift. The narration in this is incredible, you don’t just know that Sophie is in constant pain from her car accident, you don’t just know about how she feels about Mina, you don’t just know her daily struggle not to use. You FEEL it. This book made me physically ache from feeling everything that Sophie feels, it’s emotionally raw. It is truly incredible writing.

There are so many more things I could tell you about this book, but I’m getting lost in how amazing it was and I can’t think of the right words.
Just know that this is deliciously dark, the second half is filled with some amazing twists, it is as much a love story as a murder mystery and both those elements are done brilliantly. I whizzed through this and had I not decided to start reading it at 9.30 p.m. I probably would have finished it in one setting, it was only the fact that my eyes were burning that I had to stop, Far From You is just so compelling that I actually debated also trying to track down an audio book version, just so I could get to the end. Oh and the end. Man, that was unexpected, which made it all the harder to accept.
When you get to the real culprit and the finale of the mystery, if you don’t also look like this:
aaah

Then you’re probably doing it wrong.

This gets the Nick Fury Seal of Approval. How can it not?
photo

 

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

3 thoughts on “Far From You

  1. Pingback: The 2014 End of Year Survey | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

