In May I read…

I was so looking forward to this month’s genre in the Book Genre Challenge! I’ve long been intrigued by Steampunk, but I’ve never really read that much of it, in fact, my only foray into steampunk is the Infernal Devices series, so I tracked down as many goodreads recommendations as I could in that genre!

levithanLeviathan – Scott Westerfeld
I’ve sort of loved Scott Westerfeld books since I read Parasite Positive, that book is good. Seriously. Get it. It’s awesome. This one read a little more like a children’s book than I’m used to, but it’s a WW1 Steampunk novel, so it filled the criteria for this month and had lots of historical stuff in there which was endlessly interesting. It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but I think it was a nice lead in to the steampunk genre. I have to be honest though, every time I saw the word Leviathan, all I could think of is the way Misha Collins yells it when Cas gets taken over by them! Unfortunately, there were no black goo and icky monsters, just massive robot with the same name.

far Far from You – Tess Sharpe
OH DEAR GOD.
This was good
SO. SO GOOD. I can’t even begin to tell you how good this is, you know when you love something so much that you lose the ability to articulate it? Yeah, that. I did manage to review it before I completely lost the ability to English though and you can read all about my flailing here.

bone Boneshaker – Cherie Priest.
A steam punk novel set during the American civil war with zombies.
Let that just sink in for a moment. A steam punk novel with zombies. I’ve been really looking forward to the steampunk genre because I haven’t read much of it and I think this really opened my eyes to a whole selection of stories that I had never thought about before, it reminded me a lot of the Forgotten series which I read earlier this year. Took a while to get going, but was actually really good.

otr2 On the Road – Jack Kerouac.
This has been on my to read list for what feels like an eternity. Honestly, I wish I’d read this when I was in my teens, it’s one of those books that I think loses it’s charm the older you get. It made me want to go on an American road trip with nothing but a battered paper back copy, a fistful of dollars and a crate of pepsi max. Obviously, this trip would only be fuelled by pie. Review here.

2001 2001: Space Odyssey – Arthur C Clarke.
Really should have kept this for next month’s sci fi challenge, but as I borrowed it, thought I ought to get through it as quickly as possible. It was my first experience with Arthur C Clarke and I quite enjoyed it, but it definitely wasn’t what I thought it was going to be. Have a mad urge to watch the film now!

funnyIt’s Kind of a Funny Story – Ned Vizzini.
After Ned Vizzini’s untimely death, I moved this down a few spaces on my TBR list, I felt it would be a little inappropriate for me to read and rate or slate his book so soon after that tragedy. I couldn’t take it any more though and simply had to pick it up, having read and related (probably a bit too much) to the Bell Jar, I really enjoyed this, I found Craig’s thoughts and fears really resonated with me, but I think it would have affected me more if I hadn’t read the Bell Jar.

The Last Cogman – Rebecca Ferrier.
This might not be available in shops, but it is steampunk sort of, so it counts for this month. Rebecca is a dear friend of mine, apart from the fact that she’s my Supernatural flailing buddy, she is also a wonderful writer and she was kind enough to let me have a look at this. I loved it, it’s incredible and I hope she has more luck with the world of publishing that I have.

And currently I am about half way through:

got1Game of Thrones – A song of Ice and Fire – George R R Martin. 
I’ve just started watching the series, I know, I’m like a million years behind the rest of you, but I’ve kind of gotten tired of saying, oh yeah, I know GOT purely because I live in the same part of the world as Maisie Williams without actually knowing whats going on. Well, I’m on Tumblr, I get the gist. Anyway, I got started on the first book and its AMAZING. Dany is by far the best. And Jon Snow. Though that might be because I’ve developed a bit of a crush on both Emilia Clarke and Kit Harrington.

 

 

challengebanner

 

I was really looking forward to this month’s challenge, I’ve always loved the idea of steampunk, I always cower at how cool the costumes are, but it’s not something that I’ve ever gotten into. This month I read Leviathan, Boneshaker and the Last Cogman. The Cogman was by far the best of the lot! Now I’ve started Game of Thrones I probably won’t manage to finish next month’s challenge!

 

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “In May I read…

Leave a Reply

