Great Bookish Bakeoff – Strawberry Crumble

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking. 

20140615-175856-64736684.jpg

I found a recipe for this on tumblr and thought, ooo! I like strawberries and crumble! I bet that’s the bomb! And you know what? It bloody well was!

Things you will need:
A punnet of strawberries
190g plain flour
200g caster sugar
200g butter
100g granulated sugar
2 table spoons of flour
a sprinkle of cinnamon
some scales
a mixing bowl
The book of your choice.

Start with the filling, you need to wash, slice and hull your strawberries and put them in a bowl with 2 table spoons of flour and 100g of granulated sugar. Give that a good stir, it’ll start to look a bit pulpy and not quite solid any more, this is a good thing!
Leave that aside and get working on your topping, put your flour, sugar and butter in another bowl and start rubbing together until you get breadcrumb like substance. Just a note  – for the rest of you lactose intolerant folk out there, you can use stork butter/ vegan butter for this, it’s all the same but without the pesky dairy stuff in it! You’ll notice that in the picture, my crumble topping doesn’t look particularly crumbly, that would be because my fridge sucks at keeping things cool and the butter was practically melted when I got it out in the first place, that’s fine too, it just means that the topping will be sponge like and soft rather than crispy.

Pour your topping over your strawberry mixture and put in the oven for 45 minutes on 180 degrees, which should give you some time to do a bit of reading. I’m in the process of reading two ARCS I sort of forgot about in the time that I was stuck into Game of Thrones, so I took my baking time to get stuck into Words and their Meanings. I liked the beginning of the book, but at the moment, I’m not so much enjoying it so much. Hoping its going to get better!

Once your 45 minutes are up, get your crumble out of the oven, it tastes amazing warm, but give it a moment to cool down before you dig in. Although crumble is a traditionally winter desert, this is perfect for summer, the strawberry mixture is light and fruity and its sweet without being too sweet. Let me know if you guys have a go at this and see how your topping turns out!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

3 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Strawberry Crumble

  1. Yum! This sounds so good! Definitely going to have to try this for when I write my next book review 🙂 Hope your book gets better btw!

    • It was really good!! Definitely try it out! I finished it this morning, (the book, not the crumble!) and it didn’t really get any better… It might grow on me when I’ve had a chance to process it!

Leave a Reply

