In June I read…

This month’s book genre was science fiction, I really should have kept Arthur C Clarke for this month instead of reading him in May. I have to admit, science fiction isn’t one of my favourite genres so I wasn’t really sure what to go for first with this month’s challenge.

At least I had the time it took to finish Game of Thrones before starting some science fiction to think about what I was going to look at first!

scannerA Scanner Darkly – Phillip K Dick
My second experience with Dick. Giggle. I think I preferred the Man in the High Castle to A Scanner Darkly, but I’ve wanted to read it ever since first watching the film. Seriously, if you haven’t seen it, you should, it’s literally the only thing that Keanu Reeves isn’t wooden in and Woody Harleson and Robert Downey Jr are so good in it! The story is a really interesting concept, it’s a sci fi, without being too heavy on the science fiction, in fact, apart from the fact that it is set in the future (at least it was when it was written) and features some space age technology and a conspiracy theory, it is more of an anti drug story than a sci-fi. It’s certainly an intriguing read in regards to attitudes towards drugs, so although I didn’t enjoy it as much as my previous experience with Dick (that is never not going to make me laugh) I was glad to find a copy. To be honest, if it wasn’t for the fact that this month is sci fi month, I probably would have left it on my shelf to gather dust for years! Anyway, here’s a review for Man in the High Castle, which is by the same author.

breakfastThe Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut.
It turns out all the phrases that I’ve picked up off tumblr came from this guy, everything was beautiful and nothing hurt, and so it goes, the breakfast of champions, these are all things I use in every day life and I just thought it was tumblr speak, turns out the first two are from Slaughter House 5, also by this guy and this very book. (It seems like I’m reading sci fi novels by people I’ve already read novels of… Is that cheating?)  Anyway, I really liked Slaughter House 5, even if I was heavily traumatised by a giant spider while I was reading it. True Story. Even though I liked it, it did make my brain hurt a bit and for that reason, I preferred Breakfast of Champions, it was witty and endearing without leaping all over the place and I loved the little illustrations and the general layout in my copy.

crush Tell me again how a crush should feel – Sara Farizan
An adorable and sweet LGBT story which not only manages to avoid the trap of having characters that have nothing going for them, but their sexuality, but also features a POC as a lead character. I’ve not read anything about someone from a Persian point of view before, so this was really interesting in that respect and was genuinely refreshing. It doesn’t quite fit in with the genre for this months challenge, but it was lovely, so sorry I’m not sorry! Review to be found here!

words Words and their meanings – Kate Bassett
I was really excited to read this because its about a mystery of sorts about a writer, but even though it was about a writer, I didn’t feel like the narration really reflected that at all. Also, the romance of it… Sort of ruined it a bit. It was genuinely heartbreaking, but it didn’t hold my attention very well. It reminded me a lot of Far from you, but without the same level of feels. This is a good book, just not a great one. You can read my review here.

city1City of Heavenly Fire – Cassandra Clare.
Well, I felt like I got a pretty good work out reading this! Seriously, I have seen smaller bibles. This book was huge! Whilst I liked that we got to have a lot of banter between characters and the length meant we still had all the action and the story arc, it was a bit… unnecessarily long. I promised myself that I wasn’t going to review it, but then I just had so much to talk about, that I decided I probably should!

enderEnder’s Game – Orson Scott Card.
I wanted to read this before I watched the film, even though Orson Scott Card has the most disgusting views on homosexuality ever. Anyway, Harrison Ford and Asa Butterfield are in the film, so naturally, I want to watch it and well, its sci fi month, so it seemed like as good a time as any to get on and read it. Man, I was so disappointed. The entire book was a little bit paedophilic for me, the story convoluted and the characters were horrible. I struggled my way to the end and even then, I regretted it deeply.

boys Two Boys Kissing – David Levithan.
Oh good God. Good God. This. Is. Amazing.
David Levithan is fast becoming one of my most favourite authors. He took a concept, which should be insanely difficult to create a story around and made not only a story, but an incredibly engrossing and thought provoking one. Narrated by the spirits of gay men, many of whom suffered under the AIDS epidemic, it tells the story of several gay teens whose stories all hinge on an attempt to break the world record for the longest kiss, Harry and Craig are kissing, Neil and Peter are thinking about their relationship because of the kiss, Cooper is doing so well… All the characters are so well constructed and the story is, predictably heatbreaking and wonderful all at the same time.

hepburn1 Being Audrey Hepburn – Mitchell Kriegman.
A fun and engaging story set in New York about one girl who gets to live out her dream to be Audrey Hepburn. The perfect book for taking on your holidays. Its witty and engaging, even if, like me, you aren’t all that into the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s. This isn’t out until September, but, just to get you a little bit excited for the release date, I’ll be reviewing this soon!

 

 

challengebanner

 

This month’s challenge, as I said, was Science Fiction, I’ve never been all that into sci-fi, so I was kind of excited to get stuck into the genre and find out what there was to offer. It’s been a bit of a mixed bag, this month, I read A Scanner Darkly, The Breakfast of Champions and Ender’s Game. Two of them were infinitely better than the third!
Next month the genre is classical, another genre that I don’t read that much of, so again, this is going to be an interesting challenge for me!

 

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

4 thoughts on “In June I read…

  1. I love love love Breakfast Of Champions! And I agree that it’s much easier to read than Slaughter House 5. Sometimes a little absurdity is nice but you don’t want your brain to break in the process. There’s an audiobook read by Stanley Tucci which is so. very. good.

    I love how you balanced out Ender’s Game with Two Boys Kissing. I always hesitate to recommend Orson Scott Card to customers because I don’t like to fund his bigotry, even though there are some kids who fall in love with Ender’s Game and I wouldn’t want to prevent them from enjoying a book. I think the best remedy is to find really great LGBTQ lit to recommend even more fervently. Haven’t read Two Boys Kissing yet, but I like Levithan a lot, so will have to take your recommendation and read it ASAP.

    A mighty impressive list for June, I would say! You’ve given me some ideas to add to my never-ending TBR stacks.

    • Thank you! I like to think that these round ups do more than help me keep track of stuff, if you’ve found stuff to add to your TBR that’s even better!
      I hadn’t actually thought of how Levithan balanced out Ender’s Game like that, it was just the next thing I pulled out of my TBR jar (seriously, I have a jar full of book titles because my indecisiveness is really that bad!). Thinking about it though, I guess it was a good way to go about things, I didn’t really like Ender’s Game all that much and Orson Scott Card’s views had put me off reading it so much, but you know, the film happened! I’m hoping the film is a little better, I didn’t get on with the narration all that well.. Two boys kissing is incredible though, get on that as soon as you can!
      I’ll check out the audio book! Stanley Tucci has such an expressive voice, it must sound amazing being read by him!

  2. I read Tell Me Again How a Crush Should Feel right after I read your review and man, it was awesome! I’ve read a few other LGBTQ books before, and you are so right about most of the characters just being their sexuality. This one was so refreshing!

    For classics month, might I recommend Jane Eyre, The Secret Garden, and Journey to the Center of the Earth? If you haven’t read them yet, that is. 🙂

    Have a lovely day!!


    Morgan

    • I’m so glad you liked Tell me again how a crush should feel! It’s really cute right?!
      I’ve read Jane Eyre before, but I didn’t really get it at the time, might be time for a reread! I did really enjoy the secret garden though and I’ve never read Journey to the centre of the earth, so I may have to see if I can find that when I next go to the library!

Leave a Reply

