Being Audrey Hepburn

hepburn

 

 

Being Audrey Hepburn – Mitchell Kriegman

There was a big Hepburn anniversary or something recent, I noticed she was in the google doodle and then netgalley was awash with Hepburn related stories.. Does anyone know what was Hepburn related that went on recently? I’ve googled her and her birthday etc doesn’t seem to be around this time of year. Confused I am.

In Being Audrey Hepburn, Clarissa Explains It All-creator, Mitchell Kriegman, tells the story of a 19-year-old girl from Jersey who finds herself thrust into the world of socialites after being seen in Audrey Hepburn’s dress from the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s.
Lisbeth comes from a broken home in the land of tube tops, heavy eyeliner, frosted lip-gloss, juiceheads, hoop earrings and “the shore.” She has a circle of friends who have dedicated their teenage lives to relieve the world of all its alcohol one drink at a time.
Obsessed with everything Audrey Hepburn, Lisbeth is transformed when she secretly tries on Audrey’s iconic Givenchy. She becomes who she wants to be by pretending to be somebody she’s not and living among the young and privileged Manhattan elite. Soon she’s faced with choices that she would never imagine making – between who she’s become and who she once was.
In the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada, this is a coming of age story that all begins with that little black dress…

Guys, I love Clarissa Explains it All. That show was my jam. Whenever I hear a certain chord on a guitar, I have to say “hey Sam” to myself afterwards and the theme tune. NA NA NA NA NA NA NANA NANANANANANAAA!
Anyway, I have to talk about this book, that’s sort of the point of this…

So, this story is about a girl called Lisbeth who adores Audrey Hepburn and the film, Breakfast at Tiffany’s. While I understand her love of Audrey, that girl was hella fine, spoke a load of languages, was the very definition of elegance and did loads of humanitarian work, but I kind of hate Breakfast at Tiffany’s. The song is awesome, but the film, the film doesn’t do anything for me. My friend Annie and I used to do this thing where we would swap films for each other to enjoy, she lent me Breakfast at Tiffany’s and I felt awful because I really didn’t like it. Maybe I’m just not cultured enough, maybe I should give the book a try. Anywho, Lisbeth loves Breakfast at Tiffany’s the way that I love Back to the Future. (Coincidently, I had brunch at Tiffany’s in NYC and by at, I mean outside, because it’s a jewellery store not a diner.)

Lisbeth puts on THE dress and finds herself meeting a super famous teenager and getting caught up in the society of the rich and famous, obviously this would be dull if there weren’t a few bumps along the way.
Being a fangirl, I really related to how Lisbeth feels about seeing the dress and getting the opportunity to wear it and not just idolise Audrey, but be her for a while. I also really liked the fact that this wasn’t just a humorous tale of a girl pretending to be something she isn’t and getting in way over her head, this is the story of a girl who has hopes, dreams and aspirations, a difficult home life and an obsession with Audrey Hepburn.

I’ll be honest, there were moments of he narration that irked me, like, I don’t need you to explain to me every minute detail about your life and how difficult it is, even though you have your own car, access to education and caring friends and family members, even though it isn’t what you think you want. I’ve mentioned before how much I don’t like it when privileged kids moan about their lives. but other than that, this is a cute, holiday read which is perfect for people who love Audrey Hepburn, or who love someone like her, a brilliant icon that glitters and makes their lives better, it’s perfect for people who love fashion and New York city and it’s exactly the sort of book you’re going to want to lie on a beach with.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

5 thoughts on “Being Audrey Hepburn

    • I just found it really dull and Holly Golighty a bit flighty and ridiculous, which I know was sort of the point, but it just grated on me so much! Back to the future is awesome though, maybe I’ll write a story about a Back to the Future fan who is saving up for a Delorean or something!

  1. I am also a huge Audrey Hepburn fanatic as well. But I agree with you that Breakfast at Tiffany’s wasn’t that good. Out of all the Audrey movies I’ve seen Tiffany’s is my least favorite, Roman Holiday is the best film (in my view). I’ll go check out this book now, thanks for the review!

    • If you love Audrey, you are the intended audience for this book! I appreciate her, but I don’t know all that much about her, so you maybe much better placed to enjoy this! Glad I’m not the only person who didn’t like Tiffany’s though!

Leave a Reply

