Great Bookish Bakeoff – Cookie Dough Brownies

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

20140625-214131-78091444.jpg

Yes, you read that right. Cookie. Dough. Brownies. Like the Ben and Jerry’s ice cream flavour, but like, without the ice cream.
I made these for the June charity cake sale at work, last time, my cupcakes didn’t come out as well as I wanted them to, so I felt like I had to really up my game. If, like me, you find that dairy really plays with havoc with your tummy, you might want to give these a miss. Unless of course, like me, you can burn through the pain, sometimes when a treat is that good, you don’t mind the pain so much. Or, you could be a very creative dairy free person and manage to substitute various ingredients. I know this is possible, I used to live with a vegan that would create all sorts of cakey goodness! If you are such a person, I have tried my best to put in substitutes when I can. I used vegetable fat instead of butter, which is lactose free, but my chocolate chips were milk chocolate and I used normal semi skimmed milk for the cookie dough. but you know, experiment and tell me how it goes! Anyway, we have the July cake sale coming up next week, so I thought i would post these whilst searching for recipes for my next attempt!

Things you will need:
For the brownies –
4 ounces of chopped chocolate (milk and dark or whichever one you prefer, I went for a mix of the two. – or like, vegan chocolate if you have it!)
227g butter (I used the lactose free version of stork)
400g brown sugar
4 eggs
128g self raising flour

For the cookie dough-
170g butter (same stork as above)
165g brown sugar
150g white sugar
3 table spoons of milk (or milk substitute if you like!)
190g flour
chocolate chips (or you know, vegan ones/ dark chocolate ones)

Something to mix everything in
A blender
A tray
And the book of your choice, I was reading Two Boys Kissing and falling more in love with the way David Levithan writes with every page.

Firstly, make the brownies.
Melt the chocolate (or your chocolate substitute), either in a microwave or over the hob. While that’s melting, mix the butter (or butter sub) and brown sugar, beat in the eggs, once that looks goopy and a bit mank, mix in the melted chocolate, add flour and mix together. Make sure your tray is either greased or lined with foil and tip your mixture onto it. Bake in the oven on 180 degrees for 20 minutes, which should give you plenty of time to do a bit of reading.
Once the brownies are cooked, take them out of the oven and leave them on the side to cool. You can get a few more chapters in while they’re cooling, which, if you’re reading something as good as Two Boys Kissing, you’ll be glad of the time it takes for them to cool!
When they’re cool, you can get started on the cookie dough.
Combine the two sugars and butter (or butter substitute), add the milk (or, you know, substitute), mix all that together. Add the flour and give it a good stir, then fold in the chocolate chips. Once your brownies are cold. THIS IS IMPORTANT, THEY HAVE TO BE COLD. Dollop the cookie dough on the brownie and spread over the top. Once they’re covered, put the whole thing in the fridge until the dough is firm and then enjoy! (Or you know, enjoy for the ten seconds it takes to eat it, then deal with the pain after.)

Two Boys Kissing is even better than this desert, if that is at all possible. Every single word of it is perfection, which you should expect from David Levithan after all. This man honestly makes me want to cry next to the pile that is my ambitions as a writer. Seriously. I can’t even be jealous, it’s that good.

Let me know if you try these brownies, either with the ingredients I’ve listed, or substitute ones to cut out that pesky dairy, I’d love to know how they work out with soya milk and the like!
PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

3 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Cookie Dough Brownies

Leave a Reply

