The Great Bookish Bake-off: Lactose Free Carrot Loaf Cake

bookishbakeoff

 

The Cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking them. 

IMG_4712-0

Bake Off is back!!!
I’ve just finished catching up on Bake Off! They made 3D biscuits the other week, guys, I did that before it was cool.
So ya’ll know I’m Lactose Intolerant right?
Well, most of the time I don’t really bother about it when it comes to desserts, yes I use lactose free stork, but when it comes to things like butter icing, I have to use actual butter, it’s just not the same, but you know, I can deal with the pain. Even so, I thought it was about time that I made something entirely without butter, I made a Carrot Cake once before and said that the recipe actually said to use oil rather than butter, so I thought I’d give it a go.

Things you will need:
200g self raising flour
200g sugar
10 table spoons vegetable oil
2 table spoons cinnamon
1 carrot
1 apple
a handful of raisans
2 eggs
Some scales
A food mixer
a grater
Blender.
A loaf in.
And a book of your choice, I was reading Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson, which I was sent by Bookbridgr.

Firstly, I put my sugar, flour and cinnamon in the blender and gave it a quick stir, before adding in the eggs and oil and giving that a whiz around. While that was buzzing around for a but, I grated a carrot and cored, peeled and diced the apple. These got chucked in the mixer with the raisans and mixed in too. While that was going on, I greased the tin and poured the mixture in.
That was stuck in the oven for 40 minutes on 180 degrees, which gave me chance to finish Paper Swans, which, as you’ll see from my review, is proper good! Much like this cake ended up being! I’ve never really made a cake with oil instead of some form of butter before, but honestly, being able to eat a cake and not feeling ill afterwards was a novelty I can certainly get used to!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

