In August I read…

How in the name of all that is holy is it already nearly September? Dear God, I will be 26 by the time I next post this feature! It seems like it was only Christmas like a day ago. What the hell is going on?! Anyway, now the middle aged British moan about how fast time flows is over, let’s talk about the books I read this month! I was very concerned about this month’s genre, not quite as much as last month where I was supposed to be reading classical novels, which didn’t turn out to that bad after all, but this month was Fairy Tale Retellings and I didn’t really know where to start! I know August isn’t quite over yet, but as I’ve been in bed with a mystery illness for the past few days, I just want to get back on the internet, so blog it is!

summer1 The Summer Guest – Emma Hannigan
I was sent this by Bookbridgr, I didn’t end up being selected for the blog tour, but they were nice enough to send me a copy of the book anyway and seeing as it is summer and all, I thought it would be the perfect book to read during August. I’ll be honest, I am always grateful for books to review, but this did drag in places and I think it would have been much better if read on a beach or by a pool. It does have wonderful female friendships which was actually quite refreshing and it made me want to moan about the inherent sexism in classing this as chick lit, I mean, there are men out there that would also enjoy this, but anyway, if you’re heading off on holiday, give it a read. You can see my review here.

18053060Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Page
I know that the Wizard of Oz isn’t technically a fairy tale and Dorothy must Die isn’t technically a retelling, but I do what I want, deal with it.
This got loads of bad reviews on goodreads and while some of those points are valid, I actually really enjoyed this! I like the wizard of oz books more than the film, I like the Wicked stage show more than the book series and I was heavily traumatised and still sometimes have nightmares about the film Return to Oz. Anyway, this was a fun romp through Oz with a modern day protagonist and shows a different side to Dorothy and like I said, I am counting it as a fairy tale retelling. I was in two minds about reading this because of the whole Full Fathom Five thing… So I was glad I borrowed rather than bought this, but still. Not sure I want to be endorsing this.

roomies Roomies – Sara Zarr and Tara Altebrando
Practically perfect in every way. It’s rare to say that about a book and rarer still to do an impression of Julie Andrews when saying it about a book, but this is the story I wish I’d had when I was getting ready to go to university. It’s honest and real and has such an amazing friendship building that I was kind of sad when it ended. Review here.

 

Chris Colfer's THE LAND OF STORIESThe Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns – Chris Colfer
I have a bit of a thing about Chris Colfer, I think he’s a great actor and a very talented guy, but I just do not get on with his writing style at all. I read the first TLOS book a few years ago and although I really liked the story, I found the narration to be a little to inconsistent for my liking and then I read Struck by Lightning and found one of the most irritating book characters known to man. So I didn’t hold out much hope for this. Again, the story was top notch, the story telling was not. Sorry Chris. I ended up not finishing this, giving up just over half way, it was just too slow going and I think it could have done with an editor. Sorry!

swans1Paper Swans – Jessica Thompson
A delightful romance with themes of mental health and some wonderfully constructed characters.
After reading this, I am desperate to track down the rest of her novels, if anyone has read them, I need them in my life, are they good, where can I find them?
You can read my review of this here and if you spot it on a jaunt to the shops, please grab a copy!

bookThe Book of Lost Things – John Connelly
This has been in my TBR for ages! The cover is incredible, I got it to fullfill a 3 for £5 offer at the Works, I didn’t know that it was fairytale related until it was recommended to me by Who are you reading ! Many thanks for suggesting it!
I thought it was an interesting story with so many different strands, but I’m not sure what age group it was supposed to be for, there were moments where it read like an adult read and others where it read like a children’s book. But, fun nonetheless.

Panic_HC_JKT_des4.inddPanic – Lauren Oliver.
Oh good god, this was amazing!
I definitely need to read all the Lauren Oliver, especially if the rest of her work is like this one! I haven’t been able to give a Nick Fury Seal of Approval for a really long time, but I did manage to for this one! I read the whole thing in one sitting even though I had to be up early because I literally couldn’t put it down, I still feel a little hungover after this one! Review here.

spindSpindles End – Robin McInnery.
Goodreads really needs a reread feature so that people know what you’re reading for the first time and what you’re rereading. I’m sure this has been suggested before, get on it goodreads!
Anyway, seeing as this month was fairy tale retellings, I kept thinking about Spindles End so I got it out, dusted it off and gave it another read!

brassClash of Kings – George R R Martin
It was about time that I continued with the Song of Ice and Fire series! If I’m ever going to find out if my Jon Snow theory is right then I need to get on with it and get through these books! It’s very hard going, more so than the first one because there is a war and such like going on, but still pretty awesome! I’m going to need a bit of a break before continuing with the next one, but maybe not so long a gap between this and third one!

 

challengebanner

We only have four months of the genre challenge left and I have so many more books to read! I was hoping to try and get the whole of A Song of Ice and Fire done, but its not going to happen! Anyway, genre challenge round up for this month (Fairy Tale Retellings): Dorothy Must Die, The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns, the Book of Lost Things and Spindles End.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

