In September I read…

Welcome to Mystery Month on the Book Genre Challenge!
I’ve been waiting for this bit of the challenge since I decided to do this challenge. I am super interested in criminology and did a course earlier this year in forensic science, I don’t read an awful lot of mysteries or crime novels, even though Sherlock Holmes was always a firm favourite of mine growing up, so I was looking forward for an excuse to get into some mystery novels and honestly, the ones I’ve read this month have been top notch!

17684327The Cuckoos Calling – Robert Galbraith
I mentioned in my review that this was something that I’d had my eye on for a while, but wanted to wait until people sort of forgot that it was J K Rowling in disguise. I was so happy that I had to read mysteries this month! It meant I finally got round to reading it! Actually a splendid book, I really enjoyed it and it’s made me hungry for more crime novels, which is precisely what I wanted this book genre challenge to do! I liked it so much, I reviewed it.

cursed2Cursed – Jennifer L Amentrout
The by product of Pushing Daisies and X Men.
It’s a little Twilighty in places, but kind of fun and is great for a quick read, it took me about two days to finish it and even with the few problems that are in it, I really enjoyed it, plus it has some literary eye candy, which is always good. Review can be found here.

riversRivers of London – Ben Aaronovitch
A very peculiar story, I really liked it, but I’m having issues trying to place it in a genre, I’m counting it as a mystery due to the fact that there are police officers and they are working on a case, but it is also a supernatural, humorous, light hearted YA style book. If I had to describe it to someone, I would say that if Harry Potter finished his academic career at Hogwarts and went to work for the Metropoliton Police force, this would be book 8. If you like wizards, supernatural/paranormal stories and mysteries, this book encompasses all of those things. Plus, sometimes it’s nice to read something that doesn’t take itself too seriously.

207571521Love and Other Unknown Variables – Shannon Lee Alexander
Oh dear God I am in a glass case of emotion. I wasn’t sure about this when I started it, but then, once the story got going I got completely suckered in and ended up staying up til two in the morning sobbing into my kindle just to finish it. This is not a book to read in public, but it is a book for people who love John Green and more importantly, To Kill a Mockingbird. Plus, the cover is hella pretty and it features references to Marvel characters. Review here.

18158374Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas
Woah, woah, woah.
Just hold up.
I can’t. I can’t even. This is just incredible. Just absolutely addictive, every good adjective you can think of, this book is it. Has anyone else read it because by God I need someone to discuss the ending with! I wanted to review it so hard, but I couldn’t think of a way to do it without completely destroying the ending!

be4 The before now and the after then – Peter Monn
Took me a little while to get into, but once I got to about 30% I got really into it… Until about 65%. Then it started to feel like a bit of a chore again. Reviewed for you here, wasn’t by any means perfect, but also, not terrible, I’d have quite happily slapped one or two characters and the grammar and spelling was really an issue for me at certain points, but you it did feature LGBT POC which is a massive tick for me.

pembDeath comes to Pemberly – P D Winters.
It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a a good writer  in possession of a good fortune must be in want of creating a homage to other great writers. It is also a universally acknowledged truth that Pride and Prejudice fanfiction just does not work unless it contains zombies. Whilst I could get a real feel of what PD Winters was trying to do, this just fell a bit flat for me. I’ve read Pride and Prejudice, I don’t need a previously on to be dotted about between chapters. Also, Lizzie seemed to become more and more subservient as the book went on and pretty much became unrecognisable from the Lizzie Bennett we all know and love, the mystery was just plain bizarre and I still have absolutely no idea how the conclusions were reached.

fourThe big four – Agatha Christie
I’ve wanted to get into Agatha Christie for what feels like an eternity and have never gotten around to it, my local libraries don’t seem to have a single Poirot book in their possession, what is that all about?! Finally, I managed to borrow one from a friend and although I’m told this isn’t the best Poirot story, I really enjoyed it. His deductions are a little harder to see than those of Holmes which are downright obvious after they’re explained, but it was fun nonetheless! I’m hoping to find more Poirot and maybe get some Miss Marple on the go now too! Also I’m starting to ship Poirot and Hastings… Is that bad? Pastings? Hoirot?

teaThe Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul – Douglas Adams.
I read the first Dirk Gently book a while ago and to be honest, it’s so random I sort of forgot that he was a detective until I was skimming through my titles and saw this! It might not be Poirot standard detecting, but Dirk Gently is a holistic detective and he does manage to solve some very peculiar mysteries. Plus Douglas Adams is one of my all time faves so I’m always happy to read something he’s written.

belBelzhar – Meg Wolitzer.
I was super excited to pick this up, but I was a little disappointed to be honest… Every review I have read has made mention of it referencing the Bell Jar, one of my favourite books of all time, but there wasn’t much Bell Jarness about it. I feel like my review was a bit negative, but would love to know what you all thought of it! If you’ve read it, what did you think? Have you read the Bell Jar? If not, get on it immediately!

smokeBoy in the Smoke – Maureen Johnson
Well it was about time that I read this! I adore the Shades of London series and I picked this up on World Book Day months ago when they were released especially for the occasion. It was very short – the perfect length to see me to the end of the month! It was great to see Stephan’s development and more of his backstory and it has made me very excited for the Shadow Cabinet!

 

challengebanner

For mystery month (which sounds like it should be a tv show) I read: The Cuckoos Calling, Rivers of London, Dangerous Girls, Death comes to Pemberly, The Big Four and the Long Dark Tea Time of the Soul. Next month I get to read paranormal stories, this isn’t something that I read an awful lot of, so if you guys can recommend me anything, I’d be grateful!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “In September I read…

  1. Aw yes Dirk Gently!!!! Every few years I feel a powerful need to re-read everything Douglas Adams ever wrote, and he never fails to make me smile. Rivers of London sounds great. I’d never heard of it until now. I prefer my mysteries to have an otherworldly bent. (In that vein, have you read Jackaby? It’s like Sherlock Holmes meets the creatures under your bed.) I like the detecting theme you have going on.

Leave a Reply

