Great Bookish Bakeoff – Caramel Apple Loaf

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_4757

Man, I am going to get so fat. I blame the Great British Bake Off, I can’t stop baking. I decided to try a white cake recipe, I had a recipe book for my birthday last year that featured white cake recipes and I’ve never attempted one, but I thought I’d put my own spin on it, so here is a loaf cake version with apples, fudge and cinnamon. This is sort of similar to the Tinker Cake I made back last year. That was an apple and cinnamon flavoured loaf too.

Things you will need:
A loaf tin
A blender
A cooking apple
190g self raising flour Cinnamon
A pack of fudge cubes (I used a pack I found in the home baking section)
115g butter (lactose free in my case!)
135g sugar
2 eggs 120ml milk (Obviously, I used soya, but as far as I can tell, white cakes feature milk and egg whites, this used whole eggs, so not as white as others)
And the book of your choice, I was working my way through a Clash of Kings while this was cooking and my good golly wee, that’s a great book!

First things first, grease your loaf tin, then beat sugar and butter (whatever kind of butter you want to use!), once that’s combined, add the eggs one at a time and beat those in too. Measure out the flour and milk of your choice and add to the batter, mix together. When done the mixture will be paler than normal cake batter, I’m guessing because of the milk, normal white cake recipes only use egg whites which is why they get their name, they’re also virtually fat free, so I might have to make myself one of those one day! Pour half that batter into the loaf tin, cut up the cooking apple and place slices over the batter, sprinkle in a liberal amount of cinnamon and chuck several fudgy pieces in. Cover that with a bit more batter and repeat until all the apple, fudge, cinnamon and batter is used up. Put the loaf in the oven for around an hour on 180 degrees until the edges are a golden brown. It’ll look like a normal loaf from the outside, but when you cut into it, the sponge will be lighter and paler than usual, but it’ll taste just as good! The good thing about this cake is that it takes so long to cook, which means that I can make more of a headway with A Clash of Kings, like I mentioned in my last baking post, this is a VERY LONG book and is part of an EVEN LONGER series, which I need to get to the bottom of to prove my Jon Snow theory! Has anyone ever made a white cake before? Was it good? Was it easy? Lend me your tips! PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

