In October I read…

This month’s challenge in the book genre challenge is paranormal and it took me an embarrassingly long time to work out that it’s paranormal month because it’s halloween in October. Shhh. It’s been a long month!
I spent the beginning part of the month in Berlin, so I didn’t have an awful lot of time to do much reading, plus SUPERNATURAL IS BACK YO. Anyway, here’s everything that I read in October!

pointPoint Pleasant – Jen Archer
This started out life as Destiel fan fic – for those of you that don’t know, Destiel is my OTP and I will go down with this ship. Anyway, Point Pleasant of course had names etc changed for it’s general release, but it was the perfect thing to start off this month, scary, sweet, with paranormal beings. Actually, and it usually takes a lot for me to heap so much praise on something, but this was genuinely one of the best things I have read all year and I cannot rate it enough! reviewed here.

lifeLife After Life – Kate Aitkinson
This was recommended to me and the premise intrigued me, also I was about to go to Berlin when I picked this up and there are parts of it set during the two world wars and in the city of Munich, which although isn’t Berlin, is in the same country as Berlin, so… Anyway, this is the story of a girl called Ursula Todd who dies and ends up being resurrected over and over again and each time she comes back, she lives an alternative version of her life. The writing is wonderfully poetic, the continuous resurrections are a little repetitive and dull after a while and while we’re talking about it, I’ve noticed other reviews don’t include trigger warnings so – there is sexual assault, abortion, ptsd and spouseal abuse in this. Just in case you were planning to read this and those things are triggering for you.

rulesThe Immortal Rules – Julie Kagawa.
This is exactly the sort of book I was scared I was going to end up reading this month. Basically, its a dystopia, where the world has been taken over by vampires and their society is the one that makes all the rules and the humans are either slaves to the vampires or living in slums. Allie starts out living in the slums until one day something horrific happens to her and she gets turned into a vampire and her sire happens to be super important, but not like other vampires. Le sigh. I think I might come back to it on a different ocassion, the writing wasn’t terrible but the story was a little cliched and I just wasn’t in the right head space for it.

hemlockHemlock Grove – Brian McCreevy
I watched the tv show last year and series two debuted earlier this year and seriously, there is not a gif in the world that accurately sums up the level of WTF with this book. This is the book equivelant of marmite, you are either going to love it or hate it. It is so bad it is bording on genius, but I love it all the same. I think the book shows Roman in a slightly different light than on the TV show and the chapter titles are hilarious. Plus, I managed to find an absolutely genius quote in there to grace my #LoveThisQuote feature!

vamVampire Academy – Richelle Mead
I don’t know whether you guys know this about me, but I am a sucker (pun intended) for trashy vampire novels. I bloody love vampires. I like stories about evil, blood sucking, human eating ones, I like broody tortured ones who eat animals, I like ones that join rock bands, I even a bit like Twilight. For the trashy vampireness about it, there isn’t much else that the book offers. Which is why I really wanted to read this. Its a bording school for vampires, what more could you want? Unfortunately, this was far too trashy even for me, I just did not like it at all. Sorry, but this is one vampire series I won’t be reading any more of.

envThe Last Little Blue Envelope – Maureen Johnson
I adore Maureen and I loved 13 Little Blue Envelopes, but this sequel was so unncecessary. I liked how the first book ended without any closure about the last envelope, I like that what started our as Ginny trying to find out about her aunt ended up with her finding herself, I loved everything about it, even the crazy notion that her parents would just let her gallivant around Europe without even a mobile phone for several months. But this, it was just so contrived, the adventures were a little… Pointless? Both love interests were complete asshats and Ginny seemed to have lost her tenacity from the end of the first book to this one. Sorry Maureen, but some stories don’t need sequels, this one didn’t.

hsFinding Harry Styles – G B Hope
I was sent this for review from the lovely people at Netgalley and oh my God. If there is one thing I love more than Harry Style’s hair, it’s dystopian fiction, so a dystopian novel about a girl desperately seeking One Direction before the apocalypse happens is obviously all kinds of genius. It’s not the best written book I’ve ever read and I wouldn’t recommend that you run out immediately to your shelf, but it’s a bit of fun and doesn’t take itself too seriously. Reviewed here.

 

challengebanner

 

This month’s genre was the very broad subject of ‘paranormal’ and I read: Point Pleasant, The Immortal Rules, Hemlock Grove and the Vampire Academy. I really wanted to enjoy the Immortal Rules and the Vampire Academy, I am a lover of trashy vampire fiction and both of these should have been right up my street, I just don’t think I was in the right head space to be reading them. Hemlock Grove, which should have been god awful was actually really enjoyable and Point Pleasant was the best thing ever!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Leave a Reply

