Great Bookish Bakeoff – No proving Cinnamon Rolls

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_4815

 

I don’t know about you (but I miss being 22), but my favourite thing to do when in London is to go to Picadilly Circus and buy cinnamon buns from the world famous cinnamon bun shop near Ripleys. Seriously, if you’ve not been there before, that needs to get on your bucket list. One of my other favourite things is Chelsea Buns, though I’ve never had one of those from Chelsea. My local bakery has changed their recipe, so I don’t tend to buy them any more. Anyway, long story short, I never thought I’d ever actually be able to make my own buns, buns include having to make bread with yeast and stuff and then having to prove it for several hours before actually cooking it. I’ve seen Bake Off, I know how it works. I don’t have a proving draw on my oven, I also have no idea how yeast works. So, this seemed a little out of my range and then I discovered a yeast free no proving recipe for cinnibons and while I was sceptical, thought I would give it a go and well… It worked! So I’m going to tell you all about it! I think I might adapt this at some point so I can get chelsea buns and lemon buns and all sorts of other exciting buns! But for now, let’s get down to it!

Things you will need:
Whisk
Two bowls
A deep tin for cooking (I used a roasting tin)
Tin foil
Scales
Rolling pin
100g butter (I used Stork which is lactose free – you can use the butter of your choice)
2 egg yolks
200ml milk (of your choice – soya, skimmed whatever)
400g self raising flour
Lots of Cinnamon (if youre making cinnamon rolls, you’ll need cinnamon and currents for Chelsea buns and whatever filling you want for other types of bun)
Sugar
Additional butter.
The book of your choice – I was reading The Big Four by Agatha Christie.

First things first, get whatever you’re planning to bake the rolls in and lay tin foil on the base, set this aside for later.
Measure out your milk, weigh the butter and separate the eggs, put the yolk, milk and butter into a bowl and whisk together until frothy.
Weigh out the flour and put into the second bowl. Pour the milk mixture into the flour and pour a little sugar in and stir together until it becomes springy and doughy. Sprinkle a bit of flour onto a surface in your kitchen and put the dough in the centre, roll it around until completely covered and give it a good kneed. Seriously, get your hands in there and pull and prod it.
Roll it out into a rectangle and once at your desired thickness, using a normal butter knife, spread the butter of your choice over the entirety of the dough. Onto this pour liberal amounts of cinnamon and a sprinkle of sugar.
Carefully roll the the dough up into a large sausage and cut into eight pieces. Stand each piece up in the tin with a spiral facing upwards. Put in the oven on 180 for 35-40 minutes.
During this time, you can do a bit of light reading.
As I made these during mystery month, I was reading The Big Four by Agatha Christie, I’ve never read any Agatha Christie before but Poirot has been on my TBR list for what feels like a lifetime. I’ve been trying to find some Poirot for ages but none of my local libraries have any! Eventually I managed to borrow this from a friend, but I was warned before hand that it wasn’t the best of the Poirot stories. While I quite enjoyed it, I have nothing to compare it to… It wasn’t the best mystery novel I read all month, but it hasn’t put me off reading any more Christie. Is it weird that come the end I sort of shipped Hastings and Poirot a bit? What would you even call that ship? Pastings? Hoirot? Whatever, your cinnamon rolls are probably ready. Now, when you get those out of the oven, you are supposed to pour icing over them, you know the icing sugar and water variety, I didn’t do this because I decided to make these at 9pm and I was just too gosh darn tired to do it. Anyway, they should have icing drizzled over them and they should be enjoyed warm, whatever kind of bun you decide to make.

So, there you have it, no yeast and no proving, but bread, and specifically buns, nonetheless.
These are seriously tasty, so get on it immediately!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – No proving Cinnamon Rolls

  1. YUM! One of my favourite things ever. Next time you are in London I highly recommend you go to Scandinavian Kitchen on Great Titchfield St (not a million miles from Piccadilly) and try one of their cinnamon rolls – a Swedish friend pointed me in their direction & I’ve never looked back 🙂

Leave a Reply

