Goodbye 2014!

Another year over and we’re still together…

Irrelevent song is irrelevant.
Anyway, Hello! Happy end of the year to you all, it’s time for me to reflect on one of my three challenges for this year, those of you who’ve been here since the first of January and beyond, will know that this year, I have embarked on a 365 (which finishes next week), a Goodreads challenge to read 100 books in a year and the Book Genre Challenge hosted by eternal-books on Tumblr.

These are my thoughts on finishing the Book Genre Challenge, which at times, was actually really difficult – which was sort of the point. I wanted to do something that would really widen my reading habits and get me into things I wouldn’t have looked at otherwise and it certainly did that. Without this challenge, I probably wouldn’t have ventured into steampunk or sci fi and I certainly wouldn’t have gone out of my way to find classics to read! For those that missed it, or maybe want to try this is into the coming year, the Book Genre Challenge gives you a different genre each month, with the view that you have to read at least one book from each specified genre until the end of the year. I’ve been summing this up month by month, but here’s a comprehensive list of how I did!

challengebanner

 

January – Historical Fiction.

Code Name Verity – Elizabeth Wein,
The Return of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

February – Dystopia

 Under the never sky – Veronica Rossi,
The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Attwood,
The Lux Guardians – Saruuh Kelsey

March – Contemporary

(At the time, I thought everything I read counted, but on reflection, turns out only one of them was listed as contemporary fiction on Goodreads!)
Perfect – Rachel Joyce.

April – Fantasy

The Last Werewolf – Glen Duncan,
Good Omens – Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman,
The Fifth Wave – Rick Yancey
Death’s Daughter – Amber Benson

May – Steampunk

Leviathan – Scott Westerfeld,
Boneshaker – Cherie Priest,
The last cogman – Rebecca Ferrier

June – Science Fiction

A Scanner Darkly – Phillip K Dick,
Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut
Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card

July – Classics

A tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens
Girl with the Pearl Earring – Tracy Chevelier
Jeeves and Wooster Omnibus – P G Wodehouse

August – Fairy Tale Retelling

Dorothy Must Die – Danielle Page
The Land of Stories: The Enchantress Returns – Chris Colfer (well, I read half of it!)
The book of lost things – John Connelly
Spindles End – Robin McInnery

September – Mystery

The Cuckoos Calling – Robert Galbraith
Rivers of London – Ben Aaranovich
Dangerous Girls – Abigail Haas
Death comes to Pemberley – P D Winters
The Big Four – Agatha Christie
The long, dark teatime of the soul – Douglas Adams

October – Paranormal

Point Pleasant – Jen Archer Wood
The Immortal Rules – Julia
The Vampire Academy –
Hemlock Grove –

November – Mythological retelling

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan
Dreamless – Josephine Angelini

December – Romance

Girl Online – Zoe Sugg
The Rosie Effect – Graeme Stinson
Everything Leads to You – Nina LaCour
Isla and the Happily Ever After – Stephanie Perkins

 

Like I said earlier, science fiction and steampunk aren’t particularly two genres that are normally on my radar, I tend not to read classics all that much either, mostly because I feel like some of them are cumbersome and that people seem to think that you’re all kinds of pretentious if you try and read a million classics, but I also found tracking down mythological retellings quite difficult – you have no idea how many libraries I scoured looking for some kind of Norse mythology retelling that wasn’t Odd and the Frost Giants (which I ended up reading in January having had it for Christmas.)
Out of all of them, I found steampunk to be the most interesting, even though it wasn’t something I read a lot about, I was familiar with it and I did really enjoy searching for books in that genre and reading the different interpretations of it. Contemporary was surprisingly the one I did the least well with, especially considering that I think anything published in the last five years counts as contemporary fiction. Paranormal was my least favourite of the genres. So. Much. Twilight. Style. Books. I was rather hoping for like, Supernatural, but in book form. Oh how I wish that were the case. Though I did manage to track down actual published Destiel fan fic which was AMAZING.
Anyway, I have really enjoyed this particular challenge, I feel enlightened and think that I may have to expand my horizons into the coming year and read more mystery, more fairy tale and more mythological retellings because once I found books in those categories, they were really interesting.

So, all that remains for me to say is thank you for sticking with me for so long, thank you for putting up with all these posts and for actually reading about my stupid life and to ask that if you can think of another challenge to take me through this year, I would love to hear it!

Hope your 2015 treats you well!

made of awesome

 

8 thoughts on “Goodbye 2014!

    • I’ve always been a bit scared of Red Dragon tbh… I’m a bit of a wuss! I did read some Stephen King not so long ago though and I kind of loved that! I want to get more into comic books and graphic novels, I read them a lot at uni but I haven’t done for ages. I do want to get my hands on Seconds by the guys who did Scott Pilgrim though, I hear that’s amazing!

  1. I’m well impressed you stuck with the genre challenge, I gave up about three months in because I was getting confused by what counted as what and also because I was too lazy to track down books!

    Happy New Year 🙂

  2. I’m well impressed you stuck with the genre challenge, I gave up about three months in because I was getting confused by what counted as what and also because I was too lazy to track down books!

    Happy New Year 🙂

Leave a Reply

