Everything Leads to you

every

Everything Leads to You – Nina La Cour

I feel like I haven’t reviewed anything in ages, then I finished this on Christmas Eve and although it isn’t the best book I’ve read this year, it did tick a lot of boxes for me, it passed the Bechdel Test for one thing (yes there are girls talking to girls about their relationships, but the majority of the conversations in this book are between women and have nothing to do with their love lives), it’s a satisfying, slow burning LGBT romance for another and it’s set in Hollywood and features include a mystery, film makers and general magical hollywood whimsy.

A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.
 Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

I decided to track this down after reading this review, like I said at the beginning, this isn’t the best book I’ve read all year, it’s a book that does need you to suspend belief for the length of it. Like, really? Do high school kids who are in the process of leaving school really manage to get summer jobs working in actual Hollywood on actual Hollywood productions? Like, that is a million in one chance type of job, people work their entire lives to crack into that industry, so would sixteen year olds really be working on major movies? Anyway, once you’ve just accepted that, this is a really good story.

I should say, I am very picky with LGBT stories, I find that I tend to go into them with really high hopes and then end up being disappointed because at least one character has nothing else going on in their lives apart from the fact that they fancy someone of the same gender and as important as coming out stories are, there is an over abundance of them in the world. This is neither of those things, all the non hetero characters are already out and of course, they have films to make and a mystery to solve. Yes there is a romance, but it builds slowly and is oh so satisfying in its journey.

For me though, although I did enjoy the romantic journey that Emi goes on through this book, my favourite parts of the book were those that dealt with Emi’s day job, I loved reading about how she sourced items for film sets, about how productions are put together, the audition process and how just because you’re in a film or have famous family members doesn’t mean you’re immune from the corporate nature of film. Like, I appreciate films for their creativity and artistic nature, but it’s an industry like anything else and I really loved the behind the scenes looks that this book offered.
This review isn’t anything like Tara’s, but I have writer’s block and it’s Christmas and I just wanted to tell you about it.

As you were.

Leave a Reply

