Veronica Mars: Mr Kiss and Tell

21437200

 

Veronica Mars: Mrs Kiss and Tell – Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham

Idk about the rest of you, but the fact that Veronica Mars isn’t on TV any more is really detrimental to my well being. Which is why I was so excited to learn about the movie and then even more excited when my friend informed me that there would be a book series including all my favourite characters and places from the original show. When the first book was released last year, said friend lent it to me and OH MY DEAR GOD. I actually considered taking a few days holiday just so that I could read it, it’s the kind of book that gets under your skin, the kind of book that haunts you and the sequel was no different.

The Neptune Grand has always been the seaside town’s ritziest hotel, despite the shady dealings and high-profile scandals that seem to follow its elite guests. When a woman claims that she was brutally assaulted in one of its rooms and left for dead by a staff member, the owners know that they have a potential powder keg on their hands. They turn to Veronica to disprove—or prove—the woman’s story.
The case is a complicated mix of hard facts, mysterious occurrences, and uncooperative witnesses. The hotel refuses to turn over its reservation list and the victim won’t divulge who she was meeting that night. Add in the facts that the attack happened months ago, the victim’s memory is fuzzy, and there are holes in the hotel’s surveillance system, and Veronica has a convoluted mess on her hands. As she works to fill in the missing pieces, it becomes clear that someone is lying—but who? And why?

Now, Veronica Mars is an institution. I grew up with Veronica Mars, I watched those characters grow up and so it does have a special place in my heart, which is why when my friend gave me the first book, it was with a sense of trepidation that I opened the first page. But, honestly, it was absolutely incredible. So, when I saw the second book available on netgalley, I jumped on that straight away.

Mr Kiss and Tell, like the Million Dollar Tan Line, is wonderfully intricate. The characters are so well rounded, the mystery is so brilliantly constructed and the story has that special something, that thing that draws you in and keeps you dangling until the very last full stop. Both of them are written in the style of a film noir, following on from the themes and atmosphere of the television show, we see part of the crime, or at least, we think we do and as the book reaches its conclusion, you see the mystery as Veronica does, you watch the pieces click into place alongside her and for me at least, that made me feel connected to this book and this mystery in a way I never experienced with any other detective fiction.

Regardless of whether you were a fan of the original show, if you like good writing, if you like engaging stories and if you like crime novels, then maybe you should grab the Veronica Mars series, the first two books are out now and even the physical copies, the sleeves and the pages are a joy to behold. Basically, picking up the Veronica Mars books is not something that you are going to regret.

In fact, because I loved it so much, it gets the Nick Fury Seal of Approval.

photo

5 thoughts on “Veronica Mars: Mr Kiss and Tell

  1. I’ve never watched Veronica Mars (if you can believe it) but it’s been on my wishlist for AGESSSSS. It seems to be one of those shows that people are so passionate about, yet somehow I keep on missing it. Maybe I’ll have to keep a look out for cheap second hand boxsets on ebay. 🙂

  2. Pingback: January reads! | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

