Love Hurts

23454354

 

Love Hurts – just about every YA author ever

I’ll be honest, I’m not a massive fan of reading anthologies on a kindle, I have this thing where I like to flip through and mark where each story ends and begins and I also like to read all my favourite author’s stories first and that’s kind of difficult on a kindle, having to go all the way back to the contents page and then forward again. Aint no one got time for that, BUT that hang up of mine doesn’t really have anything to do with this review.

Malorie Blackman brings together the best teen writers of today in a stunningly romantic collection about love against the odds. Featuring short stories and extracts about modern star-crossed lovers from stars such as Gayle Forman, Markus Zusak and Patrick Ness, and with a brand-new story from Malorie Blackman herself, Love Hurts looks at every kind of relationship, from first kiss to final heartbreak

This anthology features some of my all time faves, seriously, E Lockhart, who quickly sky rocketed to the top of my list after reading We Were Liars, Patrick Ness, who can really do no wrong, Markus Zusak, Maureen Johnson, honestly, there couldn’t be a more perfect collection for me than this one. Which I guess is why I’m a little disappointed. While there were a few original stories, there was also extracts from other books that I had either already read or was planning to read, I was hoping for some more new material from some of these guys. This sometimes meant that the action felt like it was starting in the middle of something larger, which had me a little lost at times. I guess I just had such high expectations because of the amount of love I have for the people that contributed to this book, also I have a huge amount of respect for Malorie Blackman, I properly loved her when I was at school!

Things that I did really love about this anthology is the amount of diversity within the pages, there were stories from LGBT points of views, there were POC, it was all in there, I know from reading Malorie Blackman stories in the past that she often features a diverse cast of characters, so it was nice to see so many of them all in one place.

The cover is all kinds of beautiful and this is a perfect valentines gift for the bookish partner in your life.

7 thoughts on “Love Hurts

    • Thank you! It’s not a bad book in the slightest, but I think I just assumed that all the stories would be original ones, so it was very disappointing for me to discover otherwise. I think it would be a nice gift for someone who loves books, especially with valentines coming!

  1. Pingback: January reads! | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

