Great Bookish Bakeoff- Creme Egg CupCakes

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking.

Wow, here’s a feature I’ve not done for a while! I made these amazing cupcakes a little while ago and as it’s nearly easter, I thought I would share them with you!

IMG_5467

Things you will need:
Lined cake tin
Mixing bowl
Whisks
Spatula
Icing bags/ some form of icing implement, I used a syringe
Spoons

And to make the cake:
150g sugar
150g of butter (I used lactose free)
3 eggs
120g flour
30g cocoa powder (I used instant hot chocolate powder)
12 frozen mini creme eggs
175g butter for the icing
350g icing sugar
yellow food colouring
2 table spoons of marshmallow fluff.

First things first, before you even start trying to make these, pop your pack of mini creme eggs in the freezer, preferably the night before. I know, this bit seemed a bit odd to me too, but trust me, they need to be frozen solid for this to work!
Secondly, when you actually come to the making of the cake, you will need to line a cake tin and pre heat your oven to 180 degrees. Once that’s all done, you can get started! You’re supposed to mix your butter and sugar and then your flour etc, but aint nobody got time for that, so I used the all in method… Up to you whichever you feel is best though, don’t panic if your mixture is thick and stodgy, this is a good thing! If it’s too thin, the eggs won’t stay in place!

Once you have thick, brown sludgy mixture (I know, I am making this sound so attractive) spoon a little into each of the cake cases and then take your creme eggs out of the freezer. Now, speaking from experience, frozen creme eggs are kinda hard to get the foil off of, but get the foil off you must. Place each unwrapped creme egg sideways on top of the batter and then spoon the rest over them so they’re completely covered. At this point, you should probably utilise your oven. Place the cake tray in the centre and cook for twenty minutes.

Now, usually, this would be the part of the post when I would tell you about whatever book I happened to be reading at the time, however, I had recently downloaded two games which would go on to scar me in very different ways, firstly, Five Nights at Freddy’s 2 and secondly, Crossy Road and it was these hat occupied my mind whilst the cakes were cooking and then cooling. Don’t worry though, this isn’t about to become a gaming blog, I am far too sucky at games for that. I’ll stick with what I know, so expect more cake and more books.

When you’re at a suitable point in your book/game/washing up and your cakes have been cooking for twenty minutes, give them a test with a knife to make sure they’re cooked and then leave them on the side to cool down while you prepare your icing. Now, we all know from previous experiences with this kind of feature, that I am not very good at making cakes look particularly attractive, I am however, a whiz at the old home made look, so if that’s what you’re going for, then follow this exactly. If however, you actually do have some artistic flair, then ice these properly! The recipe I was following called for a white and yellow swirled butter cream to sit on top of the cake in a lovely, attractive way. As you can see from the picture, I DID attempt to make it do what the recipe called for, I’m sure you guys will be more successful.
Anyway, the way this is supposed to work is that you make your icing, I use lactose free butter and then stick two table spoons of marshmallow fluff in mine because it makes the whole thing much more creamy and also it tastes freaking heavenly, so I did that as per, then split the icing into two bowls and added some yellow food colouring to one of them. Then, I put a spoonful of each colour into my icing syringe and attempted to swirl it on top of the cake, they did come out slightly multi coloured, the correct way to do this though is to place each colour in a piping back side by side and then squeeze it through a nozzle, but you guys know my track record with decoration!

Anyway, once the icing is on the cake it is time to serve!
Basically, what you end up with is a moist chocolate sponge with a delicate butter creme top and a gooey, chocolatey, fondanty centre where the creme egg has defrosted and melted. THEY TASTE AWESOME.

And, just in case you would like a little more of a visual instruction manual when you attempt to create these for your family/friends/self over the bank holiday weekend, then you can check it out below!

2 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff- Creme Egg CupCakes

  1. You may have just given me an epiphany – does the freezing keep the Creme Eggs whole? I quite often but the mint Aero balls in cupcakes and it makes them really minty but they kind of disappear into the cake. I might have to freeze them next time!

Leave a Reply

