Oh look! A book tag!

Internet tag meme things are my fave because its a version of tag that I don’t actually have to move for! One of my favourite bloggers (that’s Becky btw – if you’re not reading her blog, you totes should, it will benefit your life greatly!) tagged me in this and well, I’ve had a bit of a blogging slump recently, I’ve had so many projects going on that this thing that I’ve created, that I used to maintain almost obsessively has fallen to the wayside. I hope to change that soon, and what better way to get back into blogging than with a tag! So *Mario voice* Let’s a go!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
Oh wow, you hit me with the hardest question first!
My dear friend, Troy Bolton, can accurately represent my reaction to trying to find something to read on my TBR list:
zac cant even
After doing this for a little while, I remember that many moons ago I started a TBR jar and I empty it out and go through some titles until one jumps out at me. Wow, Leah, lamest answer ever!

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?
I always used to be the kind of person who never let a book beat her, like I finished Dark Heroine and the Fifty Shades trilogy purely because I couldn’t be beaten by these poor excuses for fiction, but these days I’ve become a little more easy going with reading. If I don’t like something, I stop reading it, I move on and I come back to it at a different time. I aint got time to waste it on something I don’t like!!

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your Goodreads Challenge. Do you quit or commit?
I had this EXACT PROBLEM AT THE END OF 2014!! Like for serious, my existential crisis intensified when I got to towards the end of the year I had like three books to go on my reading challenge and I was freaking the hell out that I wouldn’t make it. Honestly, I am the kind of person that if I start a challenge, I see it through to the end. Which is weird considering my intense commitment phobia and the fact that I’ve decided I don’t have to finish a book any more if I’m not enjoying it, but if I’ve set myself a reading challenge, I need to finish it. Last year,  I only managed it because of the mini Bane Chronicle books and I was falling so far behind on this year’s challenge I cut twenty books off of it. But at least it’ll save me from doing this on New Year’s Eve:
aaah

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?
I DON’T STOP SCREWING WITH MY BOOK SHELF.
tumblr_mbniwiNQBs1rs62ip

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
The internet. The internet is my only friend. But in all seriousness, it majorly sucks feeling like you’re the only person in the world who can see the flaws in something! I actually have people I know IRL who LOVE (yes in capitals) fifty shades. One girl I know actually thinks it was the best things she’s ever read. Yes. Honestly. While I’m just sat there like guurrrl. You need to find yourself some decent fan fiction.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
I made the mistake of reading TFIOS on an eight hour plane journey to NYC, I know how it feels to almost cry due to a book in public. I also read One Day on a train. Rookie error. I just read them through a haze of tears and if anyone looked at me strangely blamed my allergies. 90% of the time, that works every time

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?
Ummmm… I think I’d try and brave it with just going straight on with the sequel but if I get super lost, then I’ll re read the first one! I do have a freakishly good memory for books that I have read though… So I might just be on my own with that one!

8. You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?
I need to learn how to do this, someone needs to teach me, I lose so many good books this way!

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over your slump?
I wish I knew. Man, I wish I knew. I think what it takes it one good book, I find that I often get into a rut of reading similar books and so I get bored of the stories very quickly, but then I come across one book that it so incredible it helps me fall in love with reading again, so my advice is, go to the internet, find a book blogger and find a book they’ve mentioned which they are barely able to articulate their feelings for, that will be the one that will get you back into reading.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
I am poor. Very poor. And currently all my possessions have to live in one room, so any books I want to read are either in ebook form or borrowed from the library! I will probably only buy maybe one or two of the books that I actually want to read.

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?
Honestly, it could be YEARS! I tend to get excited, get a book and then put it on the shelf while I finish whatever I’m currently reading and then I’ll just pick like something random from either my jar or my kindle or something and it’ll likely gather dust until I remember it!

Well, that was fun!!
I tag whoever wants to take part next!! Especially if you too are in a blogging slump!

 

One thought on “Oh look! A book tag!

  1. Yay, you did it! I wasn’t sure if you would have the time because of what you said in a previous post. LOVED reading your answers and the allergy thing? I gotta remember that!

    I’m little disconcerted about how accurate Troy’s face is to mine when trying to pick a book… and here I thought him and I didn’t have anything in common.

    Thanks for joining in the fun, and for the lovely comments about my blog! *Cheesy grin.*

Leave a Reply

