The Silkworm

silk

 

The Silkworm- Robert Galbraith

I’m feeling really excited about this post, for this is the first review I’ve done in a really long time that I wasn’t contractually obliged to do and this book is the first I’ve read in a long time that reminded me how much I love words and stories, so I am going to share it with you!

When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days—as he has done before—and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home.
But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine’s disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives—meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced.
When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before…

You might remember I reviewed the first book in this series back last year during my book genre challenge and how much I enjoyed it, well it was with that memory firmly at the forefront of my mind that I cracked open the Silkworm and honestly, I loved every single letter of it.
Like one of our protagonists, Robin, I have long harboured a secret desire to be a detective, I grew up watching Scooby Doo and reading Sherlock Holmes. I even considered going into into the police force at one point in the hope that I could be a sleuth. Instead I settled on taking a forensic science course, just for the lolz and writing a murder mystery. But even so, my desire to be a detective remains, which is why, when I find an engaging crime story, I always tend to bleat on about it rather enthusiastically.

Anyway, the book.
One of the many things that stood out to me about this book is that it is about writers and publishing, one of my great interests and obviously a world that J K Rowling, sorry, Robert Galbraith knows a lot about. Her usual endearing style is present, as is her incredible talent for creating completely 3D characters, even those with barely a chapter’s worth of page time are remarkably fleshed out, we even got a hearty dose of character development, with Robin particularly, but also with Strike, which was great, Its always a joy to watch characters evolve as the series does, especially here, because we get to know Robin and Strike as they get to know each other.
I mentioned last time how good this series is as portraying ‘disabilities’ I put that into inverted commas because I’m not a fan of the word, being an amputee, like Strike, does not mean you are not able to do things. Anyway, regardless of my thoughts on what the word implies, I liked that although Strike does have a few irritations with his knees, the fact that he only has one leg doesn’t affect his ability to solve crime. We need more characters like Strike, who normalise disabilities, having one leg, being deaf, being blind, using a wheel chair, these things don’t stop you from being a hero. The rest of the world could do with a reminder now and again. So, more characters like Strike please.
The Silkworm, like its predecessor, is a complex web of intricate story telling woven by a very competent writer. While some detective novels leave you certain of the ending after a few pages, this kept me wondering right up until the reveal and not only that, Strike and Robin are a brilliant team.

I hear that Galbraith/Rowling has finished the third book in the series and I for one am incredibly excited about it.

If you’ve not yet experienced the delight of the Cormoron Strike books, then you are seriously missing out, this series is a gift to bestow your shelves and a set of stories that will benefit your life greatly. I said at the beginning of this that the Silkworm was the first book in a long time to really excite me, I’ve read a lot of good books this year, but this has been the first one in months that has genuinely gripped me. So, like, read it.

Side note – I am super sorry about my lack of posts recently,
sorry

although you guys appear to be sticking with me regardless, so maybe you haven’t noticed, but I have been acutely aware of how little blogging I’ve done and its bugging me because I love blogging! Let’s hope that changes soon!

2 thoughts on “The Silkworm

  1. I loved this one too, and you’re right about her portrayal of Strike and the fact that he’s an amputee. I thought he was quite well rendered and there was a good balance of showing him as able to do much of what any able-bodied person can do, while at the same time facing challenges due to this.

    I can’t wait for the next one!

  2. Pingback: April reads | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

