Great Bookish Bake off – Apple Pie Biscuits

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_6056

Oh good golly wee, it has been a while since I’ve done one of these hasn’t it!? Well, last year I baked a lot because my boss was raising money for our new cancer centre… This year she’s not doing so much fundraising, but it was still cake sale time at work today, so I thought I’d do a little bit of experimenting and using some recipes from the interwebs made apple pie biscuits. That’s right. An apple pie in biscuit form, as in a pudding you can eat during your tea break!
Let’s go learn how to make them then eh?

Things you will need:
A mixing bowl
Scales
Utensils
A baking tray
A frying pan
A large cooking apple
Cinnamon
Granulated sugar
100g castor sugar
100g butter (I used dairy free – lactose)
1 egg yolk
200g plain flour
And the book of your choice, I am reading Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock. It’s weird because the story itself is intense, but the narration is a little flippant. I like it, but I feel like I shouldn’t…Ya know?

Anyway.
First things first, weight out your butter and your sugar and cream these together in a bowl, this took a hella long time, so I watched an episode of Dan and Phil Games whilst stirring and honest to blog it literally took the entire length of the video for the butter and sugar to resemble the word creamy. To this, add the egg yolk and the flour and stir like your life depends on it. Eventually, you should end up with dough, which you will need to stick in a fridge for a while.

While your dough is chilling, you can make your apple filling, which is by far the best smelling thing you will ever experience. Use the frying method of your choice (I went for a frying pan with a few squirts of frylite, but you know, whatever you like, butter, oil… in a wok…Whatever) and grease up that pan. While your frying agent is heating, core, peel and slice your cooking apple and chuck this into the pan, liberally cover with cinnamon and sugar and fry that mother. Keep turning the apple slices and making sure they’re all covered, it will smell incredible, but don’t eat it just yet! After a few minutes, the cinnamon and sugar will start melting into the apples. Did I mention that it smells good? Cos like. It really does.

Once you’re done with that, take off the heat and get your dough out of the fridge, roll it out into a rectangle and pour your fried apple slices into the centre, cover them over and seal the dough and then cut into squares. Carefully and resisting the temptation to eat those bad boys right away, put them on a lined baking tray and stick in the oven for 25-30 minutes on 180 degrees. During your cooking time, you could wash up or you could continue reading. I went with the second option, mostly because I am really slacking on my reading at the moment. I’ve just been so super busy with life I’ve barely had time to read and it’s making me sad, reading it my favourite!

Leave your biscuits to cool for ten minutes or so and then voila! Apple pie biscuits. Thank me later.

One thought on “Great Bookish Bake off – Apple Pie Biscuits

Leave a Reply

