A Monster Calls

monster

A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness

Oh dear God, I was not expecting to cry as much as I did reading this, I was not expecting to get so immersed and I was a bit unprepared for this book and so, I want to try and make your life as easy as possible by preparing you for this book.

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.
But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…
This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.
It wants the truth.

I went into this knowing nothing but that it was a Patrick Ness, and therefore, had to be wonderful. I wasn’t wrong, this book is wonderful, but where I was expecting high fantasy and literal monsters, what we got was a metaphorical one, a silent and invisible killer, the suffering of a young boy and the utter unfairness of mortality.
Yeah. It’s a bit deep.

I don’t want to give too much away about this story, I think one of the reasons why this book had such a profound effect on me was that it took me by surprise, I didn’t know what it was about, I didn’t know what I would witness and I think in the world of the internet, we’ve kind of lost that beauty of opening a book and being completely taken aback by it. I mean goodreads is great and all, but SPOILERS.

This is going to be the shortest review in history because there is so much I want to say about this book and so much I can’t say because there simply aren’t words to express how unfortunate and short life can be for some people. I am not articulate enough to tell you how utterly brilliant this book is, both in conception and execution. Patrick Ness is a genius, something I’ve known since reading his Chaos Walking series a while back, but while those were brilliantly written, this was on a whole new level. If you’ve not experienced Patrick Ness, you need to. If you’ve not had tears rolling down your face after reading a book you thought was about literal monsters, you have not known greatness.

Basically, read this.
I want to give this the Nick Fury Seal of Approval… But would that cheapen the moment… Probably… I’ll tag it as such, but just imagine there is a seal with an eye patch here.
Also, Patrick Ness is one of the authors appearing at YALC this year, so if you’re able to go (I really want to because I went last year and it was amazing) you totally should.

4 thoughts on “A Monster Calls

  1. Challenger Deep had this same kind of effect on me. I had no idea what it was about when I started it, and then I was in it and it was crazy and beautiful and terrifying all at once.

  2. I just finished this book recently as well and I have NO IDEA HOW TO REVIEW IT because EMOTIONS. And how do you write it without talking about what it’s actually about? So difficult. I’ve been avoiding reviewing it because of that very reason.

    So looking forward to digging into some of the other Patrick Ness I own now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

