May Reads…

Well hello there lovely people, my this is a short list this time around, anyone remember the days that I used to post about reading like twenty books in a month? Well, they appear to be long gone! Here is everything I read in May!

7664334Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour – Morgan Matson
This was what I decided to read whilst in Florida. I thought, as I’m travelling and going to America, I need an American road trip book and honestly, I can understand why everyone raved about this so much, it has scrap book pages and playlists and cute people and drama and travel and intregue and I just kind of loved it. I was a bit let down by the ending though, I wanted to see a little more what the aftermath of the epic detour would be with the parents and everything, but hey ho. It was still a great book regardless.

13477676Forgive me, Leonard Peacock – Matthew Quick
Wow. I’ve never read anything like this before, I saw the film version of We Need to Talk About Kevin and it’s been on my to read list for ever, but I’ve never gotten around to it. I thought I’d give this a go because so many people said it was a seriously good read. It genuinely is ingeniously written, while the subject matter is incredibly serious, the narration isn’t so at times I felt like although I was enjoying it, I really shouldn’t be. Also, the story and motives of Leonard unravel slowly and it is so rewarding when it does and you start to realise what is happening along with the other characters. Some trigger warnings for you though, suicide, plotting murder, many mentions of Nazis. So you know.

94064 Rainbow Boys – Alex Sanchez
First, take a look at that cover, is that Matt Bomer? As in super beautiful actor type chap also known as Neal Caffery, Matt Bomer?
Yeah, thought so. Don’t you just love it when you find a famous person from before they’re famous? Anyway, this book. Rainbow Boys has been on my TBR list for ages, so I thought, seeing as Ireland has has voted unanimously in favour of same sex relations it was about time to read it. It was a bit of a disappointment for me to be honest, I think its because I spent so much time waiting to read it that I built it up a bit much. This is the first in a series, so maybe I’ll catch up with the rest of them at some point!

17262384A Monster Calls – Patrick Ness
Such emotions, much cry. This book, as I said in my review, I don’t really know why I knew nothing about this, but I honestly knew nothing about this, I had absolutely no idea what it was about so when I merrily started reading and slowly started to realise that the monster was metaphorical rather than literal I had the biggest bout of realisation ever which in turn meant lots of ugly crying. At least I didn’t read this one on a train. Trigger warnings for you: terminal illness, nightmares and absent parents. Just you know, in case those things effect you.

 

Let’s hope I get a few more books under my belt in June otherwise I am never going to get to my goodreads target this year!

 

Leave a Reply

