Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls

24991736

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls – Lynn Weingarten

Its pitched as Gone Girl meets Thirteen Reasons Why and though it did have Gone Girl like elements to it, it also reminded me of Far From You and the TV show, Pretty Little Liars, and at the same time, it reminded me of nothing else I’ve ever read. It was familiar but also wildly unique to me. Basically, this is one book that starts slowly, but once it has you in it’s grips, you might as well kiss your social life goodbye.

June barely has time to mourn the death of her best friend Delia, before Delia’s ex-boyfriend convinces her Delia was murdered, and June is swept into a tangle of lies, deceit, and conspiracy.

Yeah, the blurb doesn’t exactly give you much to go on does it?
Basically, this is the story of June and Delia, two girls who were the very best of friends until certain circumstances involving June’s boyfriend came into play, now they barely see it each other. New Year’s Eve, June gets a phone call from Delia that she ignores, the next day, Delia is breaking news having apparently committed suicide? But did she? Who is really responsible?
Man, I should write blurbs. Though the lack of a blurb stops you from making assumptions about this and really throws you into the deep end. So, perhaps no blurb is the way to go.

Anyway, this is kind of a hard one to review without giving away the massive Gone Girl element of the story, so forgive me if this is a bit vague. I’ll try my best.
I picked this up on NetGalley because the title intrigued me, I love the Virgin Suicides and I wondered if this would be similar. It isn’t. What I got was a twist filled mystery told through June’s eyes in the present and through her memories in the form of flashbacks as we got to know Delia and a bit more about their friendship. It did take me a while to get into to be honest, the first few chapters moved a little slowly and I found myself getting distracted by everything, but then, woosh, all of a sudden this book gets under your skin, it grabs you and it will not let you go. All I’m saying is, if you pick this up and after a few pages you’re wondering why, just hang in there. Trust me.

Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls is an intricately woven mystery with a cast of fascinating characters none of whom you can really trust and all of whom you suspect of wrong doing. There was also a surprise LGBT moment, I love a surprise LGBT moment! The imagery is amazing, the darkness of it alluring and it was so freaking quotable. I am going to bring back my ‘Love this quote’ feature because I found a doozy in there, honestly.

The back of the book compares this to Gone Girl. Honestly, I hated Gone Girl, it was cliched and ridiculous, this one the other hand was far superior. If Gone Girl was the book of the year, then Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls is the book of the decade.

 

6 thoughts on “Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls

  1. Pingback: #LoveThisQuote – Suicide Notes From Beautiful Girls | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: June reads | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  3. Pingback: Browse In the Bookshops | Poppy's Best of Books

  4. Pingback: A Browse In the Bookshops | Poppy's Best of Books

Leave a Reply

