The disney book tag

First things first, I saw this on Becky’s blog, so all credit to her.
Secondly, I am a meme loving fuck and will do all and every tag I see. So feel free to send them my way.
Thirdly, Charlotte needs to do this asap because her whole blog is disney themed.

Now that our PSAs are over, let’s get on with this shall we?

mer1. The Little Mermaid – A character that is out of their element, a “Fish out of  Water”.
Holden Caulfield, Catcher in the Rye. I have been in an existential crisis since I was seventeen. Seriously, when this Video came out I was like, oh wait, did you mean my life? Holden Caulfield is also having an existential crisis and when I first read Catcher in the Rye it was the first time I ever came across a book character that I related to so much. Which probably isn’t a good thing…

cinders2. Cinderella – A character that goes through a major transformation.

Katniss Everdeene. Katniss starts out just trying to survive and then she ends up being an inadvertent martyr and then (spoilers) becomes the very thing that she was fighting against in the first place. The Katniss we meet in book one, is very different to the one we end the trilogy with.

snow3. Snow White – A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

The Princess Bride. There are pirates and princesses and giants and magicians and like pretty much every single character in this book is so magical and incredible. Even the minor characters have amazing dialogue and  its impossible to not fall in love with even the awful characters. If you’ve watched the film and not the book, then grab yourself a copy, it’s basically exactly the same, but there is something special about watching Wesley jump off a page, you know?

4. Sleeping Beauty – A book that put you to sleep.sleeping

I’m gonna have to go with Becky with this one and pick the Matched trilogy too. I’m sorry, like I don’t want to dis anyone’s work or whatever, but like it just didn’t hold my attention at all. I literally did not need an enchanted spinning wheel with this one, the book was enough. I might revisit the trilogy at a later date, but for the moment its still too soon. Is it just a slow burner? Or one of those stories that grows on you? Please let me know!

lion5. The Lion King – A character that had something traumatic happen to them in their childhood.

I think I’ll have to go with the Stark sisters, Sansa and Arya from Game of Thrones. The poor kids had to watch their father get beheaded, then got seperated and then one of them witnessed the murder of her brother and mother and the other one had to live in a city that believed her family to be traitors and had the threat of being married off to a freaking psychopath and then if that wasn’t enough, the two have to deal with being manipulated by various adults into situations they’re both too young to have to deal with.

6. Beauty and the Beast – A beast of a book (a big book) that you were intimidated by, but found the story to be beautiful. beast

Firstly, can we just appreciate that picture of the Beast? I saw that and was like, that is the one that has to be on my blog, look at that derpy face! Anyway, the question. I’m gonna go with a Tolkein, because all his books are huge but kind of beautiful once you get to know them, the one I’m picking though is The Silmarillion, its so long and the language is so archaic and it was kind of a chore at first, but once I got through it I saw the beauty and I kind of love it.

ala7. Aladdin – A character that get’s their wish granted, for better or for worse.

The only character I can think of to put here is Hazel Lancaster, she meets her literary hero, but he turns out to be a douche. So, she got what she wanted but it wasn’t great. I guess you should never meet your idols. Although, as I writer, I idolise John Green and David Levithan and having met both of them, they are both much nicer than Peter Van Houten. As I’m typing this though I’m remembering the rest of the book… Augustus. Maybe Hazel wasn’t the best person to put here…

8. Mulan – A character that pretends to be something or someone they are not.mula

Will Herondale. I love Will Herondale. I’ve mentioned this before, but I love Will and I hate his decendent, Jace, even though they are essentially the same character. Will just spends the whole TID trying to be as loathsome as possible to stop him from getting too close to people, but he’s just my special snowflake.

toy9. Toy Story – A book with characters you wish would come to life

Fangirl. I want my Levi. Just saying. So far all the characters mentioned in this tag have appeared on Once Upon A Time and then we get to Toy Story. Can you imagine if Buzz and Woody turned up in Storybrook? How amazing would that be? Is there going to be a series five, because Buzz and Woody need to appear. Maybe instead of belonging to Andy, they can be Henry’s toys? Just a thought. Anyway, I am Cath, Cath is me. So, I need a Levi. Just saying.

10. Disney Descendants – Your favourite villain or morally ambiguous character. 004_Henry_Mills

Dumbledore. Dumbledore is such an interesting character, especially thinking about him post Harry Potter because growing up with the books, I saw Dumbledore the way Harry did, as a hero who was wise and righteous and saved everyone. But then, you realise that he got involved with someone who was the opposite of those things, he may have been involved with the death of his sibling. He manipulated Snape into doing his dirty work and he literally raised a child with the hope he would sacrifice himself like a lamb to the slaughter. Side note, I have never seen Disney Descendants and I have no idea what it is, so instead, have a picture of Henry from OUAT. He is the adoptive kid of the evil queen after all. And the grandson of both Snow White, Prince Charming and Rumplestilskin.

One thought on “The disney book tag

  1. Yay! You did the tag, and you agree with me about Matched! I rated that book 3 stars, but that was mostly for the ‘unique’ concept. Now that dystopia is no longer unique if I was rating it now it would probably get a 2, haha.
    I almost picked the Starks for the traumatic question too, but I wanted to use Game of Thrones for the last question.
    Also, I came across that picture of the Beast on my image quest too, IT BROUGHT ME SO MUCH JOY. 😀

    Any hey, Levi’s mine. I will fight you for him!

Leave a Reply

