VEDIJ

Please ignore the fact that VEDIJ looks and sounds like a horrendous disease, it is in fact, my new project… No. Challenge? No, it’s not that either, it isn’t a project or a challenge, to most people, it is a their entire life and claiming it is a challenge trivilises that… I don’t know what word I am looking for, but basically, to me, VEDIJ = Vegan Every Day in July. Let me explain.
Those of you who have followed this blog for a while will know that I am lactose intolerant, on occasion, I post cake and biscuit recipes without the pesky lactose so that I, and others like me, can still enjoy the best things in life. But, even though I am lactose intolerant, I am known to partake in the odd bit of dairy deviance, I eat chocolate and ice cream now and again, ice cream is my fave, but eating these things does leave me feeling ill and I guess, I’m just a bit bored of feeling ill, so I decided that from 1st – 31st of July, I would try veganism and as today marks the end of my first week as a completely dairy and meat free individual (and as people keep asking me why I’m posting pictures of strange vegan treats and getting excited about the free from section in my local supermarket) I thought I would offer up a little explanation.

I’m kind of worried about this, because being vegan isn’t just a matter of cutting meat and dairy out of your diet, it’s not a diet or detox or a fun thing you can do every now and again, it is an entire life style. Several of my friends, including one I used to live with, are vegans, so I have an idea of the complexities, but like I said, I don’t want to trivialise those life styles, but I also don’t want to just go vegan. I am a vegetarian and I try to avoid dairy, but I also live with several people who eat meat and dairy and the house is full of temptations and situations where it would be very difficult to just go cold turkey, also, being completely vegan can be expensive, dairy free treats, food and the additional things like shampoo, detergant etc aren’t easily found or affordable. So, I figured I would try it for a month just to see how feasable it is going to be for me at the moment, to see how easy it would be to make food and of course, to have a month without a stomach ache!

I’ve decided, because I’ve managed to learn so much in my past week alone about the vegan lifestyle, that I would document the month over on my YouTube channel, I did start a series of lactose free lunches over there, so I thought it would be a good place to try out and keep some vegan lunches for future reference and of course for anyone else who is considering a change in life style.

If any of you guys are vegan/completely lactose free, I would love to hear some of your tips and tricks and to find out how you get over the whole having a massive sweet tooth but pretty much all things sweet containing something I can’t eat. So, like hit me up. Also if there is anything that I am wrong about – I want to learn so I can see if this is going to be feasible now or if I should wait until the future, if such a time occurs where I am paid a more substantial wage and have my own living space.

Also I’m sorry so many videos have appeared here…

2 thoughts on “VEDIJ

  1. I wish you the best of luck on your VEDIJ journey! And you make a really good point about it being a whole lifestyle–I usually just think of it as the way you eat, but it’s like EVERYTHING you do. Excited to see how this goes for you! ^.^

    • Thank you!
      I’m 11 days in and although its going ok foodwise, I am still finding new things that aren’t animal friendly or cruelty free that are every day items, which is making things difficult, but I am persevering!

Leave a Reply

