The Kiss

kiss

The Kiss – Lucy Courtenay

This is a difficult review to write, on the one hand, I really liked the concept of this and where it was going, but on the other, I was struck by how I am completely wrong for this book.  You know how you can read a YA or middle grade book and still really love it even if you’re not the intended audience? Well, for me, I think  this is much more middle grade than YA and it was very obvious that this book is for people aged 11, not 26, but I’ll try my hardest to give it a decent review nontheless!

‘Aphrodite kissed a mortal once by the light of this moon, many thousands of years ago. It drove him crazy. The next person that he kissed – boum. The craziness travelled like this from person to person. It travelled through time. Everywhere – boum! Tu comprends?’ ‘Where did it end up?’ I whisper. His lips are on my cheek now. ‘It ended with me. And now I am going to pass it to you. You will like that, mermaid?’ Imagine the perfect kiss. A legendary kiss that makes people crazy with love. Imagine a summer’s night, on a moonlit beach in the South of France, as French boy Laurent kisses 16-year-old Delilah after the best chat-up line she’s ever heard. BOOM! Delilah is pretty sure the Kiss is fiction, despite her head-spinning holiday fling. But with all the sudden crushes, break-ups and melt-downs happening back at home, the Kiss starts looking a little too real for comfort. If only Delilah could keep track of where it’s gone …Who knew one kiss could cause this much trouble? A hilarious rom-com that will delight Geek Girls everywhere!

You can see from the blurb that this looks like a very exciting story, which is why I chose it, an element of Greek mythology, chasing a magical kiss? Sounds right up my alley. The thing is, this blurb and this story, are quite different. The narrative doesn’t follow the same idea, which was a slight disappointment, I think with a more accurate blurb, I would have had a very different experience with this book. The story is very cute, but I thought, considering this is a rom-com, there would be much more romance involved, but I feel like I’ve read better romance sub plots than I have with this, again though, this is probably because the writing of this book is very young, so maybe it was presented in this fashion because of that.

The only real problem I had with this book was the fact that the main plot is a girl trying to win back a boy they have cheated on. Idk about you, but I do find that to be a little problematic. That aside, this is fun and light hearted, but if you’re older than 12, it might grate on you a little.

Leave a Reply

