Top 5…. First Lines

Oh look, its that seldom seen top five feature that I started and then sporadically kept up with.. Sorry, I have a bit of commitment phobia and it bleeds into every aspect of my life. Anyways, here are my fop five first lines!

5) All this happened, more or less
This line from Slaughter House 5 from Kurt Vonnegut completes me.

4) In a hole in the ground, there lived a hobbit.
Everyone knows this is from The Hobbit by JRR Tolkein right? I learned the first page of The Hobbit by heart where I used to read it so much, so this line has always stuck with me.

3) Every city is a ghost
From the moment I opened Lair of Dreams by Libba Bray I was hooked in and it was because of this line.

2) It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of good fortune, must be in want of a wife.
Do I really need to say where that one is from?

1) I should probably start with the blood.
Robin Wasserman – The Book of Blood and Shadow. Who isn’t compelled to read on after being greeted with that?

Other honourable mentions of course go to A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens (It was the best of times, it was the worst of times….) and of course, Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (It was a pleasure to burn)

Does anyone else have any amazing first lines that should be added to this list?

2 thoughts on “Top 5…. First Lines

  1. Tale Of Two Cities is in my favourites list but my all time fave is, and has been since the day I first picked up and opened Ian Banks wonderful book The Crow Road:

    “It was the day my grandmother exploded.”

    How could you not want to read on?

Leave a Reply

