Great Bookish Bakeoff – Vegan Carrot Cake

 

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_6377

How many Carrot Cake recipes does this blog need? Well, at least one more I suppose! As you’ll know, I decided to go vegan during the month of July. VEDIJ is over now and I think I’m going to be mostly vegan from now on and when I finally am in a position to be completely animal and dairy free, I will be. For now though, here is a vegan carrot cake recipe for you. I ate mine with some vegan ice cream whilst watching bake off. Now that’s back I imagine this feature will make many a appearance on this blog. Just so you know.

Things you will need:
A mixing bowl
A mixer
200g self raising flour
200g sugar
2 tea spoons baking powder
2 tea spoons vinegar
10 table spoons of vegetable oil
3 grated carrots
a sprinkle of cinnamon
a sprinkle of ginger
some raisins.
And the book of your choice, I was reading More than this by Patrick Ness and listening to She’s Kinda Hot by 5sos on repeat. Because I may be a little bit in love with 5sos now. Help.

I used the all in method with this, I stuck everything in my mixing bowl and got to work with my electric mixers. If you stick in a liberal amount of dry ingredients with your spices, then add a little bit of water to smooth out the batter. Once you have something that resembles cake mix, pour it into a lined cake tin (you don’t need to grease the tin, but I used baking parchment) and pop it in the oven for 180 degrees for half an hour. While its in there, you can make a dent in your book. As all my worldly possessions have to live in one room, I can no longer buy physical books, instead I have to have e books, which is fine, but recently I have been really craving some physical page turning, a trip to the library was in need and whilst there I go ALL THE PATRICK NESS.  Honestly, I stormed through part one of More Than This, but I found the subsequent parts to be a bit more difficult. The whole thing was marvellous, as all Patrick Ness books are, but I felt like the first portion of the book far outweighed the rest. Anyway, none of that really mattered when  I had delicious cake and bake off to watch.

This was deliciously moist (sorry for those of you that hate that word), fruity and spicy, just how I like it.
Now I’m getting the hang of vegan deserts, I think that veganism will be much easier for me!

If you give this a go, please let me know what you think! Both my parents had a good go on this cake and didn’t even notice that it wasn’t a traditionally made one! My mum was surprised that it tasted the same when I told her! So yes, good. Points for vegan goodness!

Leave a Reply

