Great Bookish Bakeoff – Vegan white chocolate and honey combe cheese cake!

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them

Ok, I know what you’re thinking, cheesecake doesn’t involve baking, it’s mixing and then chilling and I hear you, I do. But the chilling required me to sit around and wait. Hence the reading. Oh, you wanted to ask how white chocolate and honeycombe cheese cake can be vegan. Well, I’ll tell you and its easy af. I cheated with this one.

IMG_6622

So, if you follow me on twitter, you will know that I have been attempting to make vegan cheesecake for a really long time, I was almost successful with vegan key lime pie, the proper way to do this is using cashews that have been soaked over night and then blended with dairy free milk and the flavourings of your choice. It takes a bit of time to get right and cashews are gosh darn expensive, then I found vegan soft cheese at my local tesco. VEGAN SOFT CHEESE. Do you know what that means? That means that I can make cheese cake the traditional way!

Things you will need:
A circular cake tin
A mixing bowl
A wooden spoon
A small glass bowl
A saucepan
A microwave
A spatula
A pot of vegan soft cheese (I found this at my local tesco!)
100g of icing sugar
3 Choices dairy free white chocolate santas
A bag of decorative honeycombe pieces
100g biscuits
50g dairy free butter
The book of your choice!

First things first, get your circular cake tin, set it to one side, then fill a sandwich bag with your biscuits and take out any frustration you may have on those biscuits by bashing them to crumbs with a rolling pin, while you’re beating those biscuits like they’re the heads of your enemies, you could put your butter (which could be dairy free if you like, or just your regular old stuff if you want) in the microwave for a minute to melt, give that a stir when its done, just to make sure, then tip your now crumbly biscuits into the butter and give it a stir. Spread that over the bottom of your cake tin and put it in the fridge to harden up while you create cheese cake!
Next, scoop all the soft cheese (vegan or otherwise) into a mixing bowl, add the icing sugar – pro tip, if you are making vegan cheese cake, do check the ingredients, not all varieties of icing sugar are vegan!- and give it a stir until its creamy. Leave that aside and set yourself up a ban marie (if you’ve never watched bake off and have no idea what that is, you fill a saucepan with boiling water and then place that on a hob on a low setting, place a glass bowl in the saucepan and drop your white chocolate into it – it makes it melt better!).

If you use fake white chocolate like I did, you might notice that it melts very slowly. Once it is liquidy, pour it into the sugary, cheesy mixture – it won’t curdle, don’t worry! Just keep stirring! Once that’s all mixed in, pour in your honeycombe pieces. I got mine from Sainsbury, they did have palm oil in, but were complete vegan, I added half the bag to my mix and then spread it over my now chilled biscuit base. A handful of the remaining honeycombe pieces were chucked over the top for decoration with some shavings of left over white chocolate. The whole thing then goes in the fridge for two hours, during which you can either do something productive while you wait until cheesecake time, or you could read, which is what I did. I was reading Look Who’s Back, which is a book about Hitler waking up in a car park in 2011 and accidentally embarking on a career in comedy. Yeah, I was pretty intrigued by the idea too.

Anyway, once the two hours is up, you end up with amazing cheesecake which tastes like actual normal cheesecake, cashews may have gotten the better of me, but vegan soft cheese is the future!

2 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Vegan white chocolate and honey combe cheese cake!

Leave a Reply

