NaNoWrimo – the ending

Well, that’s that then for another year.
NaNoWriMo went about as well this time around as it did in 2014. This year I managed a grand total of 45,000 words. Yep. 5,000 off the target. I am so annoyed at myself!! I know that come the end I was writing words for the sake of it, not because they added anything to the story, but I so wanted to reach my target, especially as I have been suffering a lot with writer’s block this year. The idea I had was something I’ve never really considered writing about before, but its been difficult to write, not just because I’m inexperienced with the subject matter (always dangerous) but because I’ve found it really hard to find the time.
This November just was not the November for me to decide to write 50,000 words. Yesterday, I finished work at 5 p.m., hurried home and wrote for an hour before having to go out to a council meeting, when I got home, I wrote a bit more (albeit with London Spy on in the background) but I just found that I was writing for writing’s sake and as much as I wanted to get the extra 5,000 to hit my target, I just couldn’t do it, I had nothing left in me to write about.
So. That’s that.
It’s not all doom and gloom though, last year’s effort ended at about 19,000 words due to said writer’s block and the entire manuscript was saved to a hard drive never to see the light of day again. This time, I have 45,000 words of story that actually has potential. My new challenge is to have a workable first draft by January, which I can then maybe get to a point where I’m happy to share it with people.
So, there you go, 2015’s Nano story, done. I’d love to hear everyone else’s progress, did you hit your targets? Are you happy with your creation? Can I read it maybe? Let me know!

Now though, its time for a new challenge, I’ve decided to take on Vlogmas over on my YouTube channel in the hope that forcing myself to upload a video every day until Christmas Day will in fact help with my creative juices and get me over this whole writer’s block barrier thing. We hope anyway. If you don’t have an advent calendar/ are lactose intolerant/ vegan/ not buying into the whole capitalist calendar idea/ don’t celebrate Christmas, maybe check it out? I can’t guarantee that it will be entertaining or make up for the lack of chocolate, but I’ll try my darndest!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWrimo – the ending

  1. I reached 50,000 but I so know what you mean about just writing for writings sake. I got to that point many times during November, but somehow I made it. 45K in 30 days is FANTASTIC and don’t think otherwise. Thousands and thousands of words written by only you, remember to feel proud in that! It’s good to here that you feel that you have something tangible from it as well 🙂

    • Thank you! That is exactly what I wanted to hear, its very easy for me to get caught up in the numbers and forget why I’m really doing it. I think I’m mostly disappointed that writer’s block got the better of me again, but I’m pleased that I have something I can work on further! Well done on hitting your target!

  2. I’ve given up on trying to reach the upper limit. As you say, and others have experienced, it often just leaves me drained and writing craps. And then I’m so burned out that I can’t write for several weeks after! I’ve started just using it as a way to keep myself accountable to something and to keep me writing, but not stressed out to meet certain numbers.

    • That’s a really good way to look at it, I just find I get too caught up in the numbers and the fact that I’ve completed it before – I have to remind myself that i didn’t have a full time job or other commitments at the time!

Leave a Reply

