Under the Dusty Moon

25413848Under the Dusty Moon – Suzanne Sutherland

Great cover and a great premise and I had such high hopes for this book, but it just didn’t thrill me. Which is a shame, because every now and then, you just need a fun, fast read, which was exactly what this was.

She’s with the band, whether she likes it or not.
Victoria Mahler is the sixteen-year-old only daughter of rocker Micky Wayne, whose band, Dusty Moon, took the world by storm when Micky was just a teenager. The band broke up under mysterious circumstances, but, after years spent off the road being a mom, Micky’s solo career is finally starting to take off.
When an offer to tour Japan falls into her mom’s lap, Vic is left to spend the summer under the care of her distant grandmother, and without her built-in best friend. Fortunately, a boy with a secret geek side and a group of feminist game-makers save the season, and Vic starts to see herself as her own person, out from under her mother’s shadow.
But when Micky finally comes home — with a poorly chosen boyfriend in tow — all bets are off. Will Vic be able to maintain her newfound sense of self amidst the building thunder of Micky’s second chance at stardom? And through it all, will Micky still really be her best friend?

I think if fame were ever going to cross my path, I’d want it in the way that Micky and Vic have it. They’re free to nip to the corner store when they have a craving for pancakes and have no milk, that sort of thing, but they also get invited to tour Asia and hang out backstage and I bet they get to go to fun premiers and events and stuff. I think I’d like that kind of fame. If I could hang out at cool events, but also hide in plain site when I want to do something normal. Anyway, that’s enough about me, let’s talk about this book a little.

So, this is the story of Vic, daughter of one time super famous and now semi famous, big brother line up status rock star, Micky Wayne. Vic narrates the story and while there is an endearing banter between her and her mother, I did find her ‘GOD MY LIFE IS SO HARD’ attitude to everything a little grating at times, also while this was enjoyable enough and was the perfect Saturday afternoon read, I didn’t come away feeling like I’d actually gained anything from reading it. I think the problem was that I picked this out because the blurb and it was a bit… misleading? I guess. I had assumed what I would be reading with this would be a coming of age over summer story with some feminism chucked in and bit of cute nerdiness set against the back drop of being the daughter of a rock star and it just wasn’t. I was left feeling a bit unsatisfied to be honest. Vic didn’t mature over the course of the book and while I enjoyed her banter with Micky and I thought her and Shaun’s relationship was quite sweet and very realistic for a book aimed at teenagers, it was all a bit flat. Vic was just a bit… Meh. And she could have been so interesting! She’s the daughter of two super talented, famous rockstars, one of whom is missing presumed dead and the other is now the aforementioned sort of famous solo singer that she lives with and then there’s the fact that she and her friend Lucy are gamers and being Micky Wayne’s daughter means she gets to hang out at festivals and stuff, it should be super interesting and she should have so many layers unravel as the story went on, but I feel like she was a little 2d. It didn’t feel much like Vic had gone on any journey throughout the story.

That aside, this book does have a lot going for it, although I thought Vic’s personality and the way that she speaks to the people in her life leaves a little to be desired, I did like the way she was presented, while she did have too many first world problems, she wasn’t the typical character you come across narrating a YA novel and it was nice for her not to be stereotypical in anyway. I think had the blurb been more relevant, it would have been a lot more enjoyable. What I expected was a journey, what I got was the summer of a spoilt brat not getting their way.

I hate not giving positive reviews, I know how much of your life goes into putting together a novel and telling your story,  but when you get given the chance to read stuff for free, you have to be honest. I think the problem with this is the blurb, I don’t have a problem with reading about whiny teenagers, but it would be nice to see that reflected in the blurb. I’m sorry to not be able to be more enthusiastic about it. I would be interested to see if anyone else has read this and what they’re thoughts were and if you grab this when its published next week, it’ll be interesting to see if the blurb is changed.

 

One thought on “Under the Dusty Moon

  1. Pingback: January Round-up. | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

