Great Bookish Bake Off – Vegan Pancakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_7062

Are you vegan or have a dairy allergy? Realised right at the last moment that it’s pancake day but you don’t have any eggs? Do you hate bananas? Well, then, stay tuned because I have just perfected a completely dairy free pancake recipe and there isn’t a banana in sight! One of the things that put me off being a vegan for so long was the incessant use of bananas. I bloody hate bananas, I can’t subscribe to anything that uses a mashed banana in a cake of any description. It’s an abomination.

 You will need:
A frying pan
A whisk
Something to mix everything in
Flour – plain, self raising or gluten free, whatever you prefer
Dairy free milk of your choice (I went with unsweetend soya milk)
Oil – vegetable or olive, up to you

Your choice of toppings and then, a book. If you like! I went with Agatha Christie’s Murder in the Mews.

First things first, decide how many pancakes you want. This will help you determine how much flour to pour into your bowl/jug/cup. The pour in your dairy free milk and add a splash of oil. Whisk together until smooth and creamy and then leave it for five minutes. During which time you can prepare your frying pan, or you can do a bit more reading. Up to you. Either way, at some point, your frying pan will need to be coated in more oil, or for the health conscious amongst you, Fry Lite or something similar.
When the pan is nice and hot, pour in your first lot of batter and watch as pancakes happen!
Once you have all your pancakes you can go crazy with your toppings and return to your book! This is my second attempt at Agatha Christie, usually I love detective novels, but the first try with a Poirot book didn’t grab me, which is strange considering how much I love the TV adaptations.

So far I am enjoying this second attempt more than I did the first one!
Also, these pancakes are great by the way and not a single banana in sight!

Leave a Reply

