Film Reviews in ten tweets or less – Only Lovers Left Alive, Whiplash and Sweeney Todd

I know I started listing the films I watch in my monthly round ups, but honestly, I enjoy flailing about the films I watch on Twitter too much to give up now, so here we go, another post featuring all the films I’ve tweeted about recently!

Only Lovers Left Alive
Only_Lovers_Left_Alive_English_film_poster A depressed musician reunites with his lover, though their romance – which has already endured several centuries – is disrupted by the arrival of her uncontrollable younger sister.

I got gifted a two month pass to Now TV and well, ya’ll know how much I love films, did you also know that I love Tom Hiddlestone, Tilda Swinton and vampires? Well, I do.
This is a movie about vampires starring Hiddles and Tilda. Yep.

31st January

Feeling ill, gonna watch only lovers left alive. Fun.

Are we supposed to pronouce waist coat as westcut?

Lol at the vampires using literary doctor’s names to get into hospitals for blood

As if Hiddles can play the violin

Apparently vampires love the white stripes

I want more movies about vampires dealing with modern life

That movie was great. Yeah it was a little weird and Aton Yelchin does not suit a moustache and long hair, but all in all, super enjoyable!

Whiplash
whip-7A promising young drummer enrolls at a cut-throat music conservatory where his dreams of greatness are mentored by an instructor who will stop at nothing to realize a student’s potential.

Another NowTV gem that ended up spilling over onto Twitter!

6th February

FINALLY watching Whiplash! So much music! Makes me wish I’d actually managed to get good at the drums.

drummer boy you ok? That was a nasty fall!

J K Simmonds is terrifying in this.

this guy is so much like my drum teacher, its probably why I didn’t take to the drums very well.

WOAH MILES TELLER, YOU OK?!

Great film, great sound track, but bought back several horrible drum lesson memories! Miles Teller is someone with a lot of potential, I’d love to see what he does next.

Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

downloadThe infamous story of Benjamin Barker, AKA Sweeney Todd, who sets up a barber shop down in London which is the basis for a sinister partnership with his fellow tenant, Mrs. Lovett. Based on the hit Broadway musical.

Imagine my excitement when I flick through the channels for some late night channel hopping and find that this is literally just beginning! I love this musical. I went to see it in the cinema in fact during opening week while I was a uni student with my then house mate, George!

6th February

Sweeney Todd is on!! This reminds me of when and I went to the cinema to see it and our strange fellow audience members

I intend to sing along obnoxiously.

*cockney intensifies* At last, my arm is complete again.

“You gandered at my ward, yes sir you gandered.”

I love Sacha Baron Cohen in this film!

I should really give context for the first tweet…. So, me and George had taken our seats at the local Odeon, only to have a group of people with incredibly smelly nachos covered in a substance that looked suspiciously like the fake blood used in the film, which was also noticed by the people who had bought the food. Cue lots of whispers of them moaning that they felt ill because of said red topping. Iconic.

3 thoughts on “Film Reviews in ten tweets or less – Only Lovers Left Alive, Whiplash and Sweeney Todd

Leave a Reply

