Book Fangirling Blog Award

blogawardbutton

Well its been a while since I’ve been nominated for a blog award! I couldn’t resist doing the post for this one though as I consider Fangirling to be my greatest talent. I was nominated by Becky who you should go and check out! Also I’m a tad worried about not being able to include her in my list of blogs I fangirl over! Also look at that graphic, much harry very potter. It’s so beautiful!

The rules:

  1. Create a post to receive your award
  2. Add the blog award button into your post and put it on the side of your blog as a widget. Visit fangirling for the award button
  3. Answer the questions below.
  4. Nominate between 5-10 book bloggers who you think also deserve this award.
  5. Come up with your own 5 questions for your nominees.

The questions Becky wanted answers to are:

1.) What was your favourite read from 2015 and why?
I read a lot of great books in 2015, you can check out everything I read in my The Read List tag, but I also did the end of year survey talking about some of my favourites. After some consideration, I think Carry On might have been my favourite. It’s the only one that’s really stuck in my head and I’ve fangirled over the most!

2.) What’s the most nerdy fangirly item you own? (E.g. necklace, poster, mug etc.)
OH GOD BECKY SO MANY THINGS!

IMG_7157Here’s a collection of things.
I decided to limit this to only bookish related fandom memorabilia because I don’t have a camera lens large enough to include all the nerdy shit I  have in my house!
I take fangirling really seriously and I literally love so many things that I have A LOT of merchandise. Clothes, shoes, collectables, bed sheets, pillows, toys… I think (though its not book related) the fact that I have a three foot tall cuddly Dean Winchester is probably worth a mention. That’s definitely the most fangirly thing I own and I pray to God that I never end up in a situation when Jensen Ackles is anywhere near my home because if he sees it, he will probably call the authorities.
I just really love the fandom nod. You know the nod you get when pass someone in the street and they are wearing a shirt from a fandom you’re in and the two of you just catch each other’s eyes and smile because you get the reference and its like even though you don’t know each other, you’re in this private club for two and you’re both super clever because no one else has noticed the reference.

3.) What do fandoms do for you? Aka, what do you get out of being a part of one, belonging, friendship, etc.
Fandoms are great. They enhance the experience of the thing that you love, you make friends with unlikely people and you can meet people through sites like Tumblr that you can have intellectual meta conversations about the original source material and characters. Being a massive nerd, I like to think about and discuss character’s reasons for doing stuff and being a writer, I like thinking about the wider context of stories and when you’re in a fandom you get the opportunity to do that with other people who have interesting thoughts on the same thing.

4.) If you could pick one character from your favourite fandom to be your best friend, who would you choose and why?
Just one person?!?! Why are you doing this to me!? My favourite BOOK fandom (it’s important to highlight the difference) would probably be Ginny Weasley. She’s amazing. I love her a bit. (if you’re wondering my favourite non book fandom bff would be Charlie Bradbury – clearly I have a thing for redheads).

5.) How do you react when you meet someone that has never read/watched/heard of your favourite fandom? (A few options: clonk them over the head, shove a book in their face, do the hokey cokey.)
I mostly gaze at them like but it would benefit your life greatly, why haven’t you experience this thing?!

The questions I want you guys to answer are:

  1. What was your first experience of fandom?
  2. Have you had any bad experiences with fandoms?
  3. Have you ever written fan fic based on a book you’ve read and loved?
  4. Pick a fandom – favourite and least favourite characters?
  5. And as I liked Becky’s question so much – show me your fandom merch, any and all fandoms allowed!

And my five nominees are:

A stranger’s guide to novels
Life of a female Bibliophile
HermioneFowl
Booksonthetube
and my friend Rebecca!

Happy fangirling!

5 thoughts on “Book Fangirling Blog Award

  1. Thank you tagging me Leah! I’m an avid reader of your blog so when I saw you tagged me I got really excited! I’ll definitely be creating my own post. 🙂 I totally agree with you on the benefits of fandoms they bring people from all over together. Plus I’ve met some of my closest friends through fandoms as well. I love your collection of HP shirts, they’re very stylish!

  2. YOU HAVE A THREE FOOT TALL CUDDLY DEAN WINCHESTER?!?!?! YOU ARE MY HERO. HE IS BAE…..AND CASS.

    I love the pic of your memorabilia, I also really love that Primark have started doing nerdy shirts, and I especially love their Harry Potter section. If you ever get in there, their HP jogging bottoms are the most comfy piece of clothing I own – I’d deffo recommend! Plus, since I’ve discovered Etsy my wishlist of nerdy things has gone off the charts, it might even start rivaling yours soon. 😉

    Thanks for doing this tag, I enjoyed reading your answers!

Leave a Reply

