Great Bookish Bakeoff: What the Fox biscuits

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

Guys, I’ll be honest, this isn’t a new recipe, but I did kind of want to A) show off how my decorating skills have improved and B) end the debate once and for all, do these look like foxes or do they look like puppies? You decide!

IMG_6919

What you will need:
A mixing bowl
A rolling pin
A piping bag
A fox shaped cookie cutter.
For the biscuits:
175g flour (use self raising if you want larger fluffier biscuits or plain if you want more biscuity biscuits)
100g of butter/marg (I used the lactose free stuff being all lactose intolerant and that)
50g caster sugar
2 table spoons of water.
You could add some vanilla essence in there if you’re feeling crazy, but I flavoured the icing so I didn’t bother)
For the icing:
100g butter
200g icing sugar
food colouring (I only had pink to hand)
1 cap full of vanilla essence
and some black writing icing for the faces.
Also the book of your choice. I was reading How Many Letters Are in Goodbye. Which was a bit heavy going, which is why I turned to baking. You can see the review here.

Firstly, weigh out the butter and the sugar, cut the butter into manageable chunks and put it in the mixing bowl, add the sugar and stir until its one big slightly yellowy, sugary paste. Basically, when your arm starts hurting, keep going, you’re probably no where near done. Or, if you’re sensible, you could use a mixer. I have one of those. It is still at my parent’s house. I don’t live there anymore.
Once the butter and sugar is successfully combined, weight out and sieve in the flour, get this all mixed in and then drop in your water and stir until it combines to make a dough. Get your hands in and kneed it about a bit, if its sticky, add more flour and if its dry and crumbly, add more water. Eventually, you should end up with a ball of dough which you will need to chill in the fridge for about an hour.
Which of course is ample reading time!
When you’re hour is up, roll out the dough using your rolling pin on a floured surface to your desired thickness and the cut out using the foxy cookie cutters. You can then arrange these very carefully on a baking tray lined with foil. Bake in a pre heated oven on 180 degrees for 15-20 mins or until they start to look golden and brown. I never understood that kind of instruction until I moved somewhere with a see through oven door. I can watch my food cook now. It’s amazing!

You could wash up during the baking time, or like me, you could return to your book for another fifteen minutes. Either way, you’ll be briefly interrupted by the things being done, but can return to whichever task you prefer while waiting for them to cool. Which could take up to two chapters, I’m just talking from my experience. When you’re done with the two chapters/the cooling, whichever comes first, you will need to prepare your icing. Again, much easier if you have a mixer. I should get on that. When you’re all mixed up, split the icing into two bowls, you’ll need more in one than the other as this is going to be the main body of the foxes and to this one you’ll need to add the food colouring. Of course, you guys will have been clever and bought orange or red colouring, right? Yeah. Thought so.
When the icing is the appropriate colour, add it to a piping bag and dab onto the biscuits to create the impression of fur. Or do what I did. Either way, it’s all good. When you’re foxy bodies are coated, clean out the piping bag, or use a new one if you’re that way inclined and finish off with the non coloured icing and then, add your face details and DONE. You have created foxy biscuits. Or puppy biscuits…

One thought on “Great Bookish Bakeoff: What the Fox biscuits

Leave a Reply

