#LoveThisQuote – The Night that changed everything

I’m bringing this feature back, but with a difference because I’ve lost the book depository book mark for marking out quotes! I have a horrible feeling that I’ve left it in a library book… Stupid me! Anyway, here’s a quote that resonated me when reading The Night That Changed Everything (which I reviewed here).

“History isn’t written as things happen, but after something has finished, so people don’t remember who we were,
but how it all ended.”

This isn’t half as much fun without a graphic is it? Maybe I’ll try and make one…
Anyway, this quote struck me because being a history nerd, I like to research things and from doing so, I discovered history changes depending on who it is telling the story. For example, how British school kids are told about WW1 and WW2 is very different to how other nation’s school kids are told about the events and that’s precisely because history isn’t written as it happens, but after the event.

The Night that Changed Everything is a great read, so do check it out if you can!

Leave a Reply

