April round up

Literally moments after returning home from the Wunderbar pop quiz where my team (the easter egg-istential crisis) came fourth, I looked at my calendar and thought, wow, April’s pretty empty, my buddy Amber messages me and asks if I fancy a trip to Cardiff – looks like taking impromptu trips to see 5SOS has become a trend, the same thing happened last year! This month also saw the return of Game of Thrones, the opportunity to geek out at the local camera show, getting to hang with my bestie and raising money for the Bobby Moore Fund. I also started writing my next novel this month! Excite!

What I read this month:

25398649Your Fathers, where are they and the prophets, do they live forever – Dave Eggers
What a mouthful of a title! When I spotted this at the library, I was initially drawn to the cover because the buildings reminded me of the ones at Auschwitz. (That was a weird sentence to type…) You can see it though, right? This is so different from anything I have ever read before, its told entirely in dialogue and tackles so many of life’s unanswerable questions.

20555443The Martian – Andrew Wier
I went to see the film back last year, so better late than never reading this eh? Besides you can’t not love a book when the opening line is “I’m pretty much fucked.” really can you? Also this is the second book I’ve read this month that features an astronaut! This does get a bit sciency in places that is a little hard to get my head around but its every bit as thrilling as the movie and even though I knew exactly what was going to happen, I was still on the edge of my seat!

17225311Tampa – Alissa Nutting
I put this book on my TBR list a million years ago when I saw a blog I follow mention it in a book haul, the cover intrigued me because it was so obviously sexual and seeing a book with the insinuation of female sexuality so blatantly on the cover was a bit new to me. This is an unsettling read to say the least, its Lolita but a modern day version with the genders switched, its about a 26 year old woman who becomes a teacher because she has a sexual desire in teenage boys, a very specific type of teenage boy come to that and she talks you through the process of starting at a new school, selecting the next boy she intends to seduce and the story of how she does it. Its disturbing because like… I’m not attracted to muscles and hirsute gentlemen, but I draw the line at pre pubescent people under the age of 18 and reading about their encounters wasn’t pleasant, but it was also interesting being in this woman’s mind.

23129410Welcome to Night Vale – Joseph Fink, Jeremy Cramer
The podcast is great. Like, legit great. The book I’m not so sure about, but when you see something from the internet in real life, you can’t just ignore it and move on, you have to check it out of the library! It was typically Night Vale… So basically, weird af and is not going to help introduce anyone to the world of Night Vale… I’m not sure if it works as well in book form, but I like Night Vale so much that I wasn’t all that bothered!

27158835You Know Me Well – David Levithan and Nina La Cour
Despite not enjoying the last David Levithan I read, he does still remain one of my favourite authors, so I couldn’t not request this when I saw it pop up on Netgalley, also because it is co-written with Nina La Cour, who wrote the Disenchantments which I LOVED and Everything Leads to You, which I also really enjoyed! Basically, I went in with high hopes. The cover isn’t anything special and the title is a bit wordy, but this was a wonderfully bittersweet story. Review here

28110862Wrecked – Maria Padain
When I read the blurb for this I was a bit hesitant because the subject matter is such a difficult one to stomach. There are a lot of books about this subject available now and they get such great discussions going that I couldn’t really pass up the chance to request this. Review here.

 

Films I watched this month:

You may have noticed if you follow me on twitter, have been keeping up with my Film reviews in 10 tweets or less posts or this video, that I really like films and that I spend a lot of time watching them, so here are all the films (some new, some rewatches) that graced my television this month!

  • The Help
    I told myself I wouldn’t watch the film until I’d read the book. I read the book like two years ago… Finally got around to it!
  • Easy A
  • Donnie Darko
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens
    Just as good on tv as it was in the cinema!
  • Look who’s back
    I read the book a while ago and noticed the film is now on Netflix (it is in German, so if you don’t speak German, subtitles are your friend), the book was fairly traumatic enough, what with it being about Hitler returning and doing what he always did, but the film was a terrifying look at how easy it is for history to repeat itself.
  • Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
    Thank you Film 4 for Tom Hardy season. Thank you.
  • This Means War
    Again, thank you Film 4.
  • Die Hard
    I’d never seen it, it appears on Netflix, that was Sunday sorted!
  • Her

TV I watched this month:

  • Once Upon a Time
  • How to get away with murder
    Finally finished season two. DEAR GOD THIS IS LIKE THE BEST THING ON TV. Its so tense!
  • Supernatural
    Its back, I wish I knew how to quit you.
  • Girls
    Season 5 just started so I thought it was about time to catch up… I think I said this last month, but… Adam Driver is my favourite thing about this show. I think most things can be improved with the addition of Adam Driver tbh. Its a mega frustrating show, I could write an essay on how much Hannah irritates me! I did manage to watch all five seasons in one month though, so I think I deserve some kind of special recognition award.
  • 11/22/63
    The best thing about NowTV is getting to watch live tv. Also this is a time travel show about James Franco going through a time hole to save JFK from being assassinated.
  • The People vs OJ Simpson
    The series finished and now I understand how OJ managed to get off. Honestly, that entire trial was a complete shambles!
  • Orphan Black
    I LOVE THIS SHOW. I was super annoyed to hear that series four wouldn’t be coming to the BBC, but then netflix went and saved the day. Well done Netflix.
  • Your Lie in April
    If you aren’t big into anime, give this a go anyway, its just so beautifully put together and it makes me sad I’m not better at playing the piano. (Also as it was April when I found this on Netflix  I thought it was very appropriate)
  • Game of Thrones

My favourite Instagram posts this month:

These converses will be missed

A post shared by leah-marie smith (@leeeeeeeeah) on

My parents have decided that my room isn’t my room anymore and so we had to go through all the cupboards where I found my favourite shoes. They were broken, my mum made me bin them. Sad face.

Siri knows more than jon snow

A post shared by leah-marie smith (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Siri is bae

Amber and I went on a beautiful, impromptu trip to see 5SOS which involved her birthday outfit being mistaken for hen party attire and then resulted in her being sung to by the staff at the Disney Store and Hamleys! Good times,

Don't stop doing what you're doooooooin

A post shared by leah-marie smith (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Live SOS

I have a dining table now! My aunt and uncle donated me their old kitchen table when they moved and then my mum sanded it and painted it so it would go in my living room and then my brother and my dad delivered it to me! Eating my first meal at it was a bit of a big deal! It feels wrong not eating at a table!

Bridges

A post shared by leah-marie smith (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Exploring.

What I did on YouTube this month:

 

What I loved on YouTube this month:

April Fools is the reason I have trust issues, but some of my YouTube faves did do some awesome things on the YouTubes for April Fools, my favourite had to be the return of Dan and Phil Crafts PRO TIP. I know I’ve already mentioned him, but I actually pulled a muscle laughing at Dan and Louise’s story about an awkward dinner, so I kind of have to tell everyone else about it. Keeping up with tradition means I have to link to at least one Casey Neistat video, so here’s his adventure in France for his son’s birthday. I also wanted to mention Dodie Clark’s new song and Pj’s new animation.

2 thoughts on “April round up

Leave a Reply

