May round up

May started off being way more social than usual! Coffee with two of my favourite ladies (well, I say coffee, it was juice in my case) followed by cinema and being kicked out of a pub! While summer appeared to come and go within two days during May, I did manage to squeeze in a bit of adventuring! This month I also hung out with the local ukulele orchestra in the hope that they think I’m good enough to join them and guested on Becky’s blog for mental health awareness week!

What I read this month:

11429619 A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian – Marina Lewycka
What a title!  I now know from reading the book that this has very little to do with tractors and their history (though that is a plot point), so if you are looking for a book about the history of tractors written in Ukrainian, you should probably look for a different book…. This was an interesting read, despite the misleading title! I want to read more things about Europe and European cultures, let me know if you can think of any!

26114524The Only Thing Worse Than Me is You – Lily Anderson
Oh look, a trend of long titles is forming! I was initially drawn to this book because the cover is so cool and has a graphic novel/ comic book feel to it and then I checked the blurb and saw the words Doctor and Who in that order and thought, I should definitely read that! It was ok, if a bit long, so check my review here.

To Wed a Rebel – Sophie Dash
This isn’t the sort of thing I would normally read, but I know the author so… I read a similar book of theirs back last year, you can see the review of that here and the review of this here! I hope that this time next year when her next book is out that I’ll have read more in the genre because if they’re all like this one, it’ll be seriously fun!

Love and Other Man Made Disasters -Nicola Doherty. Another ARC which has a lovely cover I'll never get to store on my shelf.

Love and Other Man Made Disasters – Nicola Doherty
This had me at the first page, you know when you open a book and you just gel with it immediately? That was me with this book. Not only was Juno incredibly relatable, but the narration is so endearing and there is a The Fault in Our Stars reference within the first few lines so I was all over this! Check my review here!

25893533 (1) The Translation of Love – Lynne Kutsukake
Many thanks to Penguin Random House for this book!
You may have noticed this book doing the rounds, I am part of the blog tour, for which I am honoured! Those of you that have popped by here before will know that I love reading and learning about the period of history before, during and immediately after WW2 and that I also love Japan, so this was a great book for me!

Martini Henry – Sara Crowe
This was also sent to me by Penguin Random House, thanks guys! I was excited to get stuck into this as it is a story about a young girl who wants to be a writer and her adventures just trying to deal with life in general and trying to be an adult. I think we all know that feel, right? I did find our lead character, the writer, to be a little too much like Hannah Horvath (we all know she’s from the show Girls and I really don’t get on with her character, right?) at times for me to really sympathise with her, but it was still a wonderfully eccentric, quite British read, so look out for my review in the next few weeks!

Films I watched this month:

You may have noticed if you follow me on twitter, have been keeping up with my Film reviews in 10 tweets or less posts or this video, that I really like films and that I spend a lot of time watching them, so here are all the films (some new, some rewatches) that graced my television this month.

  • Captain America: Civil War
    OH MY GOD ITS SO GOOD I LOVE SPIDER MAN, I DON’T KNOW WHAT TEAM I’M ON, I JUST LOVED IT SO MUCH!
  • Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl
  • Sherlock Holmes
  • Ace Ventura: Pet Detective
  • Fifth Element.
    I bloody love this film. You have not lived until you’ve seen Gary Oldman with only half a head of hair and Bruce Willis running around in orange. Big Baddah Boom.
  • The Little Shop of Horrors
  • An American Tail
    A blast from the past on a Sunday morning!
  • To Rome with Love
    ** Disclaimer: I have a complicated relationship with Woody Allen films. On the one hand, his films are wonderful, they look beautiful, they’re well written. He’s an amazing film maker. I’m just very conscious that he is a problematic person what with the whole child abuse allegation and the marrying of his adoptive daughter thing.** You know, just in case any of you are triggered by his presence on this list.
  • Maleficent 
  • Spice World
    Can you believe I’ve never seen this before? Wtf even is this movie?

TV I watched this month:

  • Game of Thrones
  • 22/11/63
    This is becoming one of my favourite things on television, I need to track down the book!
  • Peaky Blinders
    It’s back. It’s back and its been so long and I am still way too over excited about it! You should take a look at this  if you’re not sure how much I love Peaky Blinders!
  • Once Upon a Time
    CAPTAIN SWAN. NO.
  • Orphan Black
  • Elementary

My favourite Instagram posts this month:

Peaky Blinders time!

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

I was very excited about the return of Peaky Blinders! Also, I love this hat and I never have an opportunity to wear it.

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Took my Holga lens out for a spin during the sunshine. Think that photography course might have been worth something eh?

Off to ukulele club… Hoping to emulate tyler joseph and be actually good…

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Ukulele club was amazing and I am now a proud member of a ukulele orchestra!

Jumping on the umbrella bandwagon

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

For some reason there are umbrellas hanging around Southgate… So, I decided to see them for myself and photograph them!

What I did on YouTube this month:

What I loved on YouTube this month:

So, the first thing I want to mention is a channel I should have mentioned in the beginning of the year, I discovered it in January and its becoming one of my favourites and that’s RedHeadAbroad, she’s doing her own version of Pretentious Monthly Scrapbook (called CRAMPS) and everything she uploads just looks gorgeous and I’m very jealous of her life being in all these exotic places, so… Go check it out! Other mentions have to go to Dan, Phil and Louise playing ObamaLlama because I laughed so hard I think I might have pulled a muscle, Misha Collins (yes he of Supernatural fame), he visited a Trump rally and bloody hell, please America, don’t let that be a reality  and Emma Blackery because her new song is RAD, check it out here. I know I mention Casey Neistat in every single one of these, but even if that is the case, I can’t not talk about this – his vlog from the most incredible hotel room I have ever seen in my entire life. Plus there is a bonus drone rescue moment. Also, I love the music he uses in his videos, I want it on my iPod. Finally, I just wanted to give honourable mentions to this video by Jack Howard and this one from Tomska, because they’re both so #relatable.

3 thoughts on “May round up

Leave a Reply

