June round up

Wow, June, you were a bit shit weren’t you. As if the Orlando shooting and the Jo Cox murder weren’t enough, then my fellow countrymen decided to let fascism win and throw the whole lot of us in the shit. Great huh? I don’t want this to be all doom and gloom, no matter how insignificant any of the nicer things that happened are in comparison, June did have some nice moments. This month I got to have a few days off which I got to spend hanging out with my mum and my bae Amber, this resulted in my first ever sleepover in my new flat, which was super fun! I spent too many hours waiting for a train to see James Bay (who was incredible by the way), the tiny town I work in held its first ever Pride event – if you live in an uncultured rural town, you’ll know how big a deal this is. I also got to hang with my long distance bff and my nephew has started talking which is the cutest thing in the world. I’m just sorry he and my niece have to live in this world, especially the state it is in at the moment.

What I read this month:

27416150 The Force Awakens – Michael Kogge
Thought I’d check out the novelisation of the film to see if there are any clues into who Rey’s parents are and how she ended up being where she was and what her connection to Kylo Ren is. Also I want to know how and why Kylo went darkside. Turns out, this doesn’t really answer those questions.

12649718Me Before You – JoJo Moyes
Everyone tells me how wonderful this book is and you couldn’t escape the movie hype at the beginning of the month. This is only the second JoJo Moyes book I’ve ever read and much like last time, I found her writing to be delightful and engaging, though I did find it to be a bit… problematic… A bit ableist I guess… I’d be interested to see if anyone else has any thoughts on this?

23301770My Heart and Other Black Holes – Jasmine Warga
It feels like this has been on my TBR list forever, its certainly been on my kindle for far too long, so I thought I’d get on with reading it. In fact, it had been on there for so long that I’d completely forgotten what it was about until I added it to my goodreads shelf! There were points when I adored this book, there were points when I was scared this was going to become something from my ‘reasons I hate books about mental health’ hit list, in the end, I kind of loved it.

28915259When we Collided – Emery Lord
I might review this when I can be a bit more coherent about it. Oh how I sobbed through the ending! Though this does feature the most manic of manic pixie dream girls (a trope that does get on my nerves at time), it also featured a beautifully written examination of bipolar disorder, grief, family, teenage romance and well… at its heart, love and life in their many varied forms. It was wonderful. And what an appropriate title!

26889460The Museum of You – Carys Bray
Took me a little while to get into, its an incredibly descriptive story. Its a bittersweet story, based in sadness, but with a curious, hopeful vibe. Stories about families, especially broken ones, are sort of my kryptonite and this is a good book, its just a little bit too heavy on the descriptions sometimes. There isn’t an awful lot left to the imagination. Review here.

Films I watched this month:

You may have noticed if you follow me on twitter, have been keeping up with my Film reviews in 10 tweets or less posts or this video, that I really like films and that I spend a lot of time watching them, so here are all the films (some new, some rewatches) that graced my television this month!

  • Chocolat
    I know Johnny Depp is all kinds of problematic in light of recent things, but it was on, I’ve never seen it. So… I’ve never read the book either, any good?
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • The Wolf of Wall Street
    If you have three hours to spare, I thoroughly recommend giving this a watch! Leo is incredible.
  • About Time
    The cutest thing I have ever seen!
  • Pacific Rim
    Now I know that John Boyega is going to be in the sequel!
  • Mulan
  • Iron Man
  • Mama Mia
  • The Boat that Rocked
  • Tomorrow when the war began
    I started reading the series forever ago and never finished it, I have seen the movie before, but I saw it on Netflix and thought I’d revisit it. I need to find the rest of the books and find out what happens!

 

TV I watched this month:

  • Game of Thrones
  • Peaky Blinders
    THE LAST TWO EPISODES THOUGH Like any time T Hardz was on screen was solid gold.
  • Orphan Black
  • Penny Dreadful
    Its on NowTV and my latest binge watch! I’m not entirely sure what the show is about, but I watched three seasons worth of it so it must be good! Is this it? No more?
  • The Last Leg
    The best thing on British TV tbh. I did very much enjoy the fact that Jeremy Corbyn was a guest!
  • Pretty Little Liars
    I was so excited for this to come back!
  • IZombie
    omg so good! Why did no one tell me?

My favourite Instagram posts this month:

More fun with the munchkins

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Popped to my mum’s during a lunch break this month to find she was baby sitting my niece and nephew, so we had fun in the garden for a while!

Sainsbury has vegan own brand ice cream finally something other than vanilla swedish glace!

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Yo, any of you guys lactose intolerant/ vegan? Get yo’selves to Sainsbury cos they got this in Chocolate and Strawberry – its super good! And its nice to have something other than vanilla for a change! Also, its not as expensive as some brand name dairy free ice cream.

Wish this could stay forever #msnpride

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

My town held Pride for the first time ever and its legit the first time I have ever felt proud to have a connection to the place.

Was getting jealous of Turbo's progress… So here's Stella @krisskarnage79

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Meet Stella! If you guys follow me on Insta, you’ll know that I was gifted a plant when I moved into my place, I named it Planty (how original right?) Anyway, having been spurred on by my success of keeping Planty alive, I got myself a Strawberry plant (its name is Stella) and I am now awaiting my first batch of berries!

What I did on YouTube this month:

What I loved on YouTube this month:

My faves, twenty one pilots, are on tour right now and I’m so sad that there aren’t UK dates on the emotional road show and I was even more sad about not getting to see the show after they started releasing promo videos for it, like this one and this one! They also released the video for Heathens this month AND I CAN’T ITS SO GOOD. Here’s a Casey Neistat where he not only rode in a Delorean, but also visited Winterfell! He also spent a day at vidcon in disguiseJames Corden hosted the funnest car pool karaoke ever and a new challenge hit YouTube, the Roast Yourself Challenge, so here are my favourite two from Emma Blackery and Luke Cutforth. Another thing I loved this month was Rose and Rosie showing just how to do a #Spon.

 

One thought on “June round up

  1. Another person reminding me that I need to read Me Before You! I feel like I’m hearing about it everywhere. My Heart and Other Black Holes is another one I want to read really soon, so hopefully I find time for both of them 🙂

Leave a Reply

