Great bookish bakeoff – Vegan Lemon Drizzle Cake

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

IMG_7584

Why hello there, its been a while since I’ve done one of these, you might have noticed that many of these deserts have been veganised… Sorry about that. Anyway, now I live on my own and I’m not a big fan of eggs (that and I do the vegan thing most of the time) I didn’t want to have to buy eggs whenever I want cake, so I’ve been searching for egg substitutes. I experimented with baking powder and vinegar, which I’ve discovered only really works with chocolate cake… Now, I’ve found an incredible and cheap egg substitute, with which I’ve managed to create lemon drizzle cake with no dairy and is legit delicious!

Things you will need:
Mixing bowl
A cake tin
Electric mixer
150g self raising flour
150g sugar
2 table spoons apple sauce (any kind, I got a 29p tin from Asda)
75ml oil
2 table spoons of lemon juice for the sponge, 2 squirts for the icing
175g icing sugar
2 table spoons of warm water
The book of your choice. I was reading Translation of Love by Lynne Katsukake.

Firstly, drop your apple sauce, oil, sugar and lemon juice into a mixing bowl and whisk until combined. Fold in the flour until mixed. Unlike using baking powder and vinegar, this will actually look like normal sponge mix, if a bit stiffer. Spoon this (yes it is that stiff) into a prepared tin (I would recommend using grease proof paper rather than greasing it because it stuck to my tin anyway!) and pop in the oven at 180 degrees for half an hour. During which time, you can either begin the washing up or you can do a spot of reading. No prizes for guessing what I did…

After thirty minutes, take the cake out of the oven and stick a knife through the middle to check it is cooked – if not, pop it back into the oven for a bit, other than that, wonderful, you have made cake and it looks just like a normal sponge right?! Let it cool and then pop it out of the cake tin. I put glace icing over the top of mine, but really, its entirely your call.
To make the glace icing, put 175g icing sugar into a bowl, drop in two table spoons of warm water and stir until thick enough to cover the back of a spoon, squirt some lemon juice into the icing for flavour and then spread over the cake. I put mine in the fridge for ten minutes just to firm up the icing and then serve! You might not believe this, but this tastes exactly like making lemon drizzle cake the normal way with eggs and butter etc! You can’t taste the apple at all, instead all you get is a light, fluffy sponge cake with a hint of lemon!

If you give this a try, let me know how you get on!
And just think, if you fancy cake and you don’t have any usable eggs in the house, that doesn’t mean you can’t still have cakes!

Leave a Reply

