September round up

Ahh, September, the month in which my existential crisis increases ten fold because I am very neurotic and now am closer to thirty than I am to twenty. I am not a youth any more. wtf. Anyway, remember that I was attempting to achieve gingerness? Well, September has seen me get closer to this goal. This month featured bantz, wii tournaments, Yorkshire pudding failures, frozen churros, birthday celebrations, the first theatre trip of 2016 and fun times with my favourite munchkins. The oldest munchkin just started school. I can’t even.

What I read this month:

27766357Moth Girls – Anne Cassidy
What to even say. On the one hand, I raced through this, on the other it was quite simplistically written for something with such a creepy subject and because I’m not good with like kidnapping and murder as a plot line it did freak me out a bit! I was kind of disappointed with the ending, there was closure, but I wanted more and I felt like Tina was kind of robbed by having one chapter where the others got way more.

22913648Only Ever Yours – Louise O’Neill
Is Louise O’Neill the feminist author I have longed for? You know, I think she might be. If you’ve read A Handmaid’s Tale, this won’t be anything new for you, its essentially the same story, young women chosen by men to either be wives/companions or handmaids/concubines, only this features children rather than grown women, children being groomed into the most perfect they can be so that they can be picked by eligible men. Reading this made me think that this is life before the events of A Handmaid’s Tale. If I had a copy of Handmaid’s Tale, I’d have read it immediately after reading this, I think it would have been interesting to have the two as companion novels. Not exactly pleasant reading, but brilliant nontheless.

dangerousDangerous Boys – Abigail Haas
I read Dangerous Girls a while ago and dear God, it was incredible. One of those books that really stay with you, you know? If you’ve never read it, I recommend that you do so immediately. This wasn’t anywhere near the same standard,which was so disappointing. It didn’t have anywhere near the same thrill that Dangerous Girls did, I didn’t find myself desperately tearing through the pages trying to get to the bottom of the story and I do kind of find love triangles a bit… meh, essentially, this book was a teenage love triangle trying to be Dangerous Girls. It was entertaining enough and I think had I not loved Dangerous Girls so much I might have liked it a bit more… But… Yeah.

20797806The Apple Tart of Hope – Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
I bloody love apple tart and it is September, the season of apples, so… yeah, I might have picked up this book based on the fact that I really like apple tart. Or pie if you happen to be into pastry. Which I am. Anyway. Though I enjoyed this I did have a lot of questions. This is the story of next door neighbours, Meg and Oscar, Oscar likes to bake apple tarts and is a genuine ray of sunshine, like he saves a man he thought was considering suicide by baking him a pie. Anyway, Meg moves to New Zealand for six months during which time Oscar makes friends with the girl renting Meg’s house who is a total bitch and then Oscar goes missing and I’m just like… How great was this pie for convincing someone not to kill themselves? Wtf is up with Pamela? It was well written and flowed nicely, but I felt like it needed more…

895856Sometimes Madness is Wisdom: Zelda and Scott Fitzgerald a marriage – Kendall Taylor
You might have noticed (and if you haven’t you’re in luck because I’ve linked it below for you) that I wanted to read more non fiction. I guess this was me easing myself in to exploring the world of non fiction by picking a subject I’m already knowledgeable on. Though I think this book was a little too wordy in places, I did like that unlike other books I’ve read about the Fitzgeralds it focused on Zelda rather than Scott. You can see my review of this here! I did find little notes in this from the last person who read it, which is awesome! I love reading other people’s thoughts on books!

23210035My own story – Emmeline Pankhurst
Yes, I’m furthering my quest for non fiction! I spent some time in the library hunting for a specific biography, which I didn’t find, but then my eye caught this. I am hugely interested in feminism and the suffragette movement and I want to read more about this subject and I do find autobiographies easier to read than anything else. This was so interesting and I learned so much more about the period and the suffragette movement. Also I’ve completely changed my view on Gladstone, he used to be one of my favourite prime ministers! (Yes, I have a list of favourite prime ministers. The current one and her predecessor aren’t on the short list in case you wondered.) Its a shame, but we weren’t taught an awful lot about the Suffragette movement at school, all that was covered was that a group of women wanted the vote and went around terrorising the government and throwing themselves under horses. This should be part of the curriculum, especially as we have such low voter turn outs. Since finishing this, I did go and do some further reading and while this was biased (being an autobiography) and didn’t acknowledge that the Pankhursts were privileged (for instance, the majority of women didn’t have access to education or money – though it would have taken people of the Pankhurst’s position in society to have gotten the vote in the first place) or the not so nice things that took place, like the disowning of her own children. That sort of thing. Regardless, from a historical point of view, political point of view and feminist point of view, this was super interesting and now I want to check out the film!

26255907How Hard Can Love Be? – Holly Bourne
This isn’t the first Holly Bourne book that I’ve read, but it is the first Spinster Club book that I’ve read and I appear to have started with the second one rather than the first. Ooops. I was drawn to the series seeing the author appear on YouTube talking about how the theme of the series is feminism and well, I am into that equality. I did enjoy this in a nice, fun, YA kind of way, but I can’t say that I got an over riding vibe of feminism coming from this. Had this been sold to me as teenage girl with serious mum issues spending the summer in a foreign country trying to make sense of her dysfunctional family I’d have enjoyed it so much more. The story line with Amber’s mum was so interesting and though I usually get annoyed with whiney white kids moaning about their parents, I was totally with Amber on this one. I’m not saying this isn’t feminist, I think there are many things that make it feminist, but I can’t say it is the most feminist thing I’ve ever read.

Films I watched this month:

You may have noticed if you follow me on twitter, have been keeping up with my Film reviews in 10 tweets or less posts or this video, that I really like films and that I spend a lot of time watching them, so here are all the films (some new, some rewatches) that graced my television this month!

  • Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason
  • Brooklyn
  • Tropic Thunder
  • Bridget Jones’ Baby
  • Cockneys Vs Zombies

 

TV I watched his month:

  • Great British Bake Off
    Best enjoy it while we can, eh?
  • Gilmore Girls
    WHY DO YOU KEEP BLOWING HOLES IN MY SHIP.
  • Ripper Street
  • Adolf and Eva – Love and War
    I am a massive history nerd and love learning about World War 2 so I couldn’t resist this documentary about Eva Braun, I don’t know an awful lot about her, so this was super interesting!
  • Brooklyn 99
    I’ve never seen this before and it is legit the funniest thing I’ve seen in a very long time! Also I’ve accidentally fallen for Jake Peralta and I can’t get up.
  • Go 8 bit
  • Teen Wolf
    Netflix just uploaded the first two series and its been forever since I watched this show… So…
  • Gogglebox

My favourite Instagram posts this month:

The 1975's reading set on the tv and updating the scrap book only six months behind…

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

Full of food and walking around Bishop's Palace with mum – pretty good celebration of my birth so far

A post shared by leeeeeeeeah (@leeeeeeeeah) on

What I did on YouTube this month:

What I loved on YouTube this month:

Well, the first thing I saw that made me go YES. YES, LET’S SHOUT THIS FROM THE ROOFTOPS this month is this video from my friend Joe explaining his stance on Nuclear Weapons. Coincidentally, the day after I uploaded a video about reading non fiction, Sophie uploaded this abut non fiction! I got so many recommendations from her video, so thanks Sophie! Other mentions have to go to this episode of Drunk Advice with Rose and Rosie – can these two make videos with Hannah all the time? And while we’re on the subject of Drunk Advice, here’s the episode with the Midnight Beast. I feel like its been a while since Casey Neistat made an appearance, so here’s his vlog showing us how the other half live with this incredible airplane journey. And I can’t not mention my bae, danisnotonfire and the hilarious story of how he almost blinded himself.

4 thoughts on “September round up

  1. I read Am I Normal Yet? – the first book in the Holly Bourne series a while back. I didn’t know it had feminism themes at the time, I picked up up cos of the OCD stuff. I liked the mental health parts and I thought it dealt with the subject quite well, but the feminism parts felt a bit…forced. I’ve debated reading HHCLB but I don’t think I’ll bother.

    • I have Am I Normal Yet on my kindle as well, but I didn’t realise they were a series! I wanted to read it because of the OCD element, its good to hear that it was approached well, I was debating reading it, but I might give it a go based on that. I worry about books with mental health themes… Anyway, yeah, the feminism thing… Holly Bourne said in an interview that the Spinster Club are feminist novels and I guess there are some feminist moments, but it wasn’t a theme that I got overall, disappointing to hear that the others don’t have an obvious theme as well. HHCLB isn’t a bad book, I really enjoyed it but I think its marketing is a little off.

Leave a Reply

